Fruit Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
These turned out delicious with a few minor adjustments per the other reviewers: 1 banana instead of 2 (still has definite banana flavor), pecans instead of almonds, added some chopped craisins, and added 1/2 c. honey, 1/2 t baking soda, and reduced the oil by 1/8 cup, due to adding honey. Also due to adding honey, I reduced bake temp to 325 and baked for 20 minutes. They look great, held their shape, and were tasty! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
good for sugar-free and healthy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
Very tasty, but tended to fall apart. I found that I needed to cook at a slightly lower temp. or the apricots burned on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
hmm...these tasted...different. i liked the fact that they were healthy, but they certainly didn't taste like cookies...don't get me wrong, they didn't taste bad, they just tasted like muffins...like mini-muffin blobs on my cookie sheet. I wasn't crazy about them, since the banana taste was a bit overwhelming, but my sisters ate these bite-sized muffin/cookies in one night. So, they must have thought they were good. Just depends on what you like, i guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
I am sorry but I didn't like these at all. There was no sweeteness about them, and they were too tasteless for me at least - unless I missed an ingredient. I am glad they turned out great for others, but it just wasn't what I expected. THANKS for posting the recipe, though. I always like to try new recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
These cookies are incredible! The thing that caught my eye was the simple and wholesome ingredients. I actually replaced half the fat by using apple sauce as one recommended and they came out perfect! I would even recommend using other kinds of dried fruit such as cranberries instead of apricots. Some people recommended baking them in small drops as they do tend to fall apart. I kept that recommendation into consideration, but instead filled a big spoon with the mixture and tightly packed it in before dropping it onto the cookie sheet. The cookies came out perfect size and shape without breakage! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This is delicious! Actually, i did not have dried apricots and i ended up using raisins. You can also use apple sause insted of oil. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
I stumbled across this recipe and noticed that all the ingredients were stuff that I wanted to get rid of, so having nothing to lose, I experimented a bit... I halved the recipe and used All-bran Original cereals (let it sit in the wet mixture for 10min to soften). I didn't have enough dried apricots (only 1/4 cup) so I used the rest in apricot jam and omitted the oil to balance the moisture. I also used 3 packs of instant oatmeal (2 of which were peach & cream), sifting away the sugar to keep the oats and peach bits (exactly 3/4 cups). I kept the cookies small as advised, and it yielded 45 mini 1-inch wide cookies. The texture was pretty good, and it tasted very much like granola bars. It was also not too sweet. They stuck on the wax paper and fell apart though, even after spraying it with PAM... Overall, it's a nice, VERY healthy recipe but I can't judge it more than that, since I made so many modifications...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
I was agreably surprised by those cookies, that do gain in being small and sweeter. I would opt for honey instead of sugar, for the simple and healthy ingredients is what attracted me to them, in the fisrt place; no bleached flour, no milk, no sugar, etc. Really breat little snacks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
This cookie I modified a little and it is out of this world. I added 1/2 cup of sugar, used pecans instead of almonds (thats what I had), for the cereal I used cheerios, and I used only about a cup of the apricots. These cookies are better as very small drops, half dollar size, otherwise they tend to fall apart
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States