Fruit Cocktail Drop Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
very close to my families holiday fruit cocktail cookies that i have made for over 30 years and that my great great grandmother made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I made some significant changes, so please keep in mind this rating is based on how I made the cookies, not the recipe as written. Used butter instead of shortening, cranberries instead of raisins, and instead of walnuts used 1 C coconut + ½ C pecans. I cut the biggest chunks of fruit in half -- Personally, I like the chunkier fruit. These were really good. Light and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
OMGOSH! These are absolutely the best cookies. Tasted batter before baking, and knew they'd be good. But, tasting one right from the oven, heavenly. I did not do as some chose to do, chop up fruit smaller. Keeping fruit big lets you know your biting into fruit. If smaller, then you only get the essense of flrui flavor, not true fruit. Wow! I sure lucked up finding this recipe. Love this recipe site. Wow! Wow! Wow! G-r-r-eat cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I'm making these right now. Very easy to mix together. I did use my hand chopper to dice up the fruit a little bit. They bake up nice and puffy, very light. These cookies are tasty, I really like them. However, I think the recipe needs a little salt. Maybe a half teaspoon? All in all, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
These are really surprisingly good. My boyfriend and I can eat a whole batch ourselves. I'm glad I found a way to use up the random cans of fruit cocktail I have in my pantry. My only issue with this recipe is that it's really kind of a mess chopping up the fruit (the fruit's way too big to not chop up) and mixing it into the batter is a difficult and slimy experience. I used almonds instead of walnuts. I'd try these next time with some coconut flakes baked into the batter or on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I HAVE MADE THESE COOKIES FOR 25 YRS. THE ONLY THING I DO DIFF. IS USE 3 CUPS OF FLOUR AND 2 TBLS OF CINNIMON. ALSO I ALTERNATE DRY INGREDIANTS AND WET ONES INTO THE BUTTER, BROWN SUGAR AND WHITE SUGAR MIX. DO NOT OVER MIX THESE COOKIES. THESE ARE A GREAT SCHOOL BAKE SALE ALTERNATIVE AS THEY ARE FILLED WITH FRUIT INSTEAD OF PB AND CHOCOLATE. THEY ARE MY FAMILIES MOST FAVOURITE COOKIE. HOPE THIS HELPS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
These are really good cookies. Nice flavor very soft but not exactly a wow! I would make them again just more spice otherwise good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
These cookies are soft and light. Great fruity flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2003
I think it is a very good receipe especially for young children, and teens, and for older people that like to stay away from the frosting, and all the added toppings that many cookies can have.it is also good for them for it has the fruit.I usually leave the nuts and raisans out of mine and it still taste OH! so good! Kids eat them up! and they dont' know it is good for them.I recommened it for those afterschool snacks, potlucks,very easy receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2001
I can't believe I baked these cookies (not a huge fan of fruit cocktail), but the cookies came out rather well. Should I make them again, I'd chop the fruit up into smaller pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States