Fruit Cocktail Cake with Sweet, Buttery Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
This cake is awesome! It is very moist (I followed a reviewer's advice and added 2T Oil to the cake mixture). I did mix it with my kitchen-aid and after it was mixed turned the mixer up (as did another reviewer) to chop the fruit cocktail. The sauce is very rich and yummy. I think the sauce is the reason many say it was like pudding, because after putting the sauce on it appears a little liquidy, but it sure is good! Definately a five star dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Carmichael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This is a yummy dessert. I would not call it a cake, though. More like a pudding. I really liked the sauce. This is great to make in a pinch with things you have on hand. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This is my favorite cake and I lost my own recipe so I was happy to have found this one but it did not turn out well. I poured the sauce over the cake (like I would with the recipe I had) and it turned the cake to mush. It was also overwhelmingly buttery. I will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
this is the basic recipe my Aunt Dot gave me 45 years ago, doubled the recipe to fit a 9 x 13 pan. Cut the sugar to 1 1/2 cups, used the fruit cocktail juice & all, then sprinkle with powdered sugar, walnuts & coconut flakes before baking. Pour the hot butter sauce over the hot cake, while still in the pan. Yummy!!!! personally I don't use a mixer, we like the large pieces of fruit. This cake doesn't last long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Not quite sure I would classify this as "cake". I added 1 Tbsp. oil and appx. 1 Tbsp of pear juice from the fruit. Turned out more like a bread pudding than a cake, but I assume responsibility since I made the changes. I like the golden crunch that the sugar gives the crust around the edges. I made this in a 9" round pan and baked 45 minutes. Makes a tasty dessert in a pinch. Hint: have some vanilla ice cream on hand for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakergrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This was phenominal! So moist and easy to make. A previous reviewer said not to use your Kitchenaid mixer because it didn't chop up the fruit. Well, I used mine with the white flat beater, and after the batter was mixed I turned the speed up pretty high. This broke the fruit up into smaller chunks but still kept them a good size to taste them in the cake. I'm happy to say I'm not afraid of fruit cake any more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tattoogrl13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sutherlin, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
My Hubby LOVES this cake and it is so simple to make for him! He always requests this for his birthday cake and whatever other special occasion he can think of:"Took out the trash without being asked" Day, "Didn't put an empty (anything) back in the pantry or refrigerator" Day..etc..hehehe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2003
Wow! What a hit! Quick, easy, and delicious. My tips; 1) Do NOT use your Kitchen-Aid mixer (is doesn't chop up the fruit at all; 2) Add a few tablespoons of vegetable oil to the batter & mix well (ensures moisture); 3) Reduce the sauce recipe by half. This cake is going to be my Thanksgiving contribution this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scottley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartsville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
I have made this recipe twice and everytime I do it seems that as soon as I sit it down to get a piece it's gone....IT'S THAT GOOD....very quick and easy to make also!! GREAT JOB!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2002
I baked this cake twice, using the exact same recipe and both times, the cake didn't turn out well. The batter is too little for a 9 inch square pan and the cake didn't rise. What happened and is the cake supposed to be a pudding?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States