Fruit Cocktail Cake VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This was an excellent, moist cake. It didn't take my family long to make this cake disappear!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Heavenly! SUPER EASY and YUMMY! It can't get any better than that! Mahalo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kula, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
This was a delicious cake! I had to make it in an 8x8 pan since it was all I had so had to bake it about 10 mins longer. I also had more topping than needed, but too much is better than not enough. I too decided to use 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup powdered sugar in the glaze. Boiled it a couple of minutes (stirring) and it set up fine. Think the next time I will add a little cinnamon and vanilla to the cake batter, but was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I had my *1 star* review already mentally prepared as I pulled the cake from the oven. It didn't look right - it didn't feel right - and it certainly didn't smell right. I turned around to begin making the frosting (note, I didn't use all the milk called for and I also substituted about 1/4 cup of powdered sugar for the granulated). By the time the frosting was done, my scathing review was done and then some (my cake began to sink and looked TERRIBLE). I furiously began to spoon the topping on, muttering to myself about the wasted ingredients, angrily grabbed a small bowl and spooned the gloppy stuff in ... took a bite ... and then another ... and before I knew it my bowl was licked clean. This cake is hideous looking - all lumpy and dumpy - but the taste is divine. Seriously. I can't believe something so ugly could taste so good. Have no idea what it'll taste like in a few hours - but for right now? Heaven. I should note I used home-canned fruit cocktail which gave mine a distinct browning color - in retrospect that probably contributed to it's ugliness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Good cake but I did make some alterations, I added a1/2 tsp salt, 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp cloves, when I made the topping I left out the coconut and cooked it the same amount of time as the cake which made it thicker Ike Carmel it really makes the cake. My husband and grandkids devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
The cake was great but the topping was not. It never came together because there was too much milk. Had to add more sugar to get it to thicken up and then it was too sugary/grainy. I had not made this cake for several years but after I got the icing started, I remembered that I used only a small can of emilk. Will make this cake again with the correct topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
My mom used to make a cake similar to this. I don't have her recipe, but this tastes very similar to what I remember. I added 1/2 tsp. salt to the dry ingredients and sprinkled about 1/4 cup chopped pecans on top after pouring on the topping. It was done in 25 minutes. Very good, moist cake. The texture is more like bread pudding than cake. My family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
We ate this warm and it was fantastic! I added cinnamon and nutmeg like one of the other reviewers. Also. It didn't sound like evaporated milk was right for the topping. I used sweetened condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
My husband really enjoyed this recipe.I added a dash of cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg to the batter.Great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States