Fruit Cocktail Cake VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2002
I love this Cake! My kids are not too happy with it because of the coconut....but I think it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
If you love a coconut topping and very moist and tender cake with fruit inside, this one's for you. It was excellent! It tastes best still slightly warm or at room temperature. We will definitely make this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
Excellent! Best I've ever had....or ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Strunk, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
This was very good! I added brown sugar and crushed pecans to top before cooking, my whole family loved it!! Will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
I made this because my mom used to make this when I was little. The cake was as I remember it, but a bit chewy. The topping was nothing to write home about. Honestly, it doesn't need the topping, it's perfect on its own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterdown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Just Like MOM used to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by King Murdock

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
Very good, however, next time I think I will mix nuts in with the coconut mixture. Eaten up fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nannie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
This is a delicious and easy cake. I didn't have any coconut for the topping. I made it without the coconut, and it came out just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
This was perfect, exactly what I was looking for. I have one quibble; the recipe doesn't state when to add the vanilla. Since it was listed with the topping, I put it in after the topping boiled. I also put a tsp of vanilla in the batter, just because I like it, and it didn't seem to hurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Photo by EQUILDOTTSIN
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Terrific and Easy! Reminds me of mom's recipe except she used 1 tblsp baking powder and 1/4 tsp salt instead of baking soda. Gives it cake consistency. I also made an adjustment to the topping. On the topping I used 1/2 white granulated sugar and 1/2 cup powdered sugar for the sugar called for. Also note: use unsalted stick butter and unsweetened coconut. Bring your mixture to rapid boil for at least 1 minute. Stir in vanilla after you remove from heat. This will make the topping set up beautifully. Great recipe, will use again. Thanks for the memories :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States