Fruit Cocktail Cake VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
My girlfriend had given me a fruit cocktail recipe a few months back but it just wasn't coming out right whenever I baked it. I decided to search the site and saw this recipe. I baked it on Christmas day, this cake is SLAMMING. When my husband keeps going back for more you know its good. I bake an extra one and took it to work and it was gone in no time. Very, very good. I will definitely keep this one and throw out the one my girlfriend gave me. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
We loved this cake. Will be making a lot more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nannie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
Excellent taste, although very rich. I thought a 9X13 dish would last a long time. . . Ha!. . . Not at our house! Thanks, Nannie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MMCruz
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
Made this recipe for a marshmallow/weenie roast my sister-in-law hosted, it was a hit everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Alvin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
Turned out fantastic! I cooked the cake in a 9x9 inch pan, and made 6 cupcakes out of the rest. Topping was great, and the neighbors loved the cupcakes, while we snarfed the cake~ Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
this is the best recipe i have ever tasted. it is moist and deliciously rich. it is fast and very impressive for dessert anytime. this is definetly a keeper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Rutkowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Old Forge, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
By far the best fruit cocktail I have had! Even better than what I remember as a child at grandma's house. A friend tried it, saying that she wasn't much of a coconut fan. She loved it so much that instead of just a taste had a whole piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Claus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This has to be the easiest recipe to follow and the best cake we have ever eaten! I added extra coconut and nuts because I can not get enough of those ingredients. The topping is just as wonderful as the cake. A very old fashioned flavor. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gelcope

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
My mom used to make this when I was a kid. It is soooo good. I call it ugly cake because it is not an attractive cake what so ever, but 1 bite and you are in ooey, gooey heaven! My husband turned his nose up at it when I told him the name and he saw it. He even said "what the heck is that thing" But he did try it and he LOVED it! (he is not even a coconut fan...) We had friends over and he could not stop telling them about how good this cake was! (of couse making them taste it too)I only wish it was better for the waist line! Oh well, better get back to running, because, I refuse to give this cake up;O) Thanks for this recipe, just like Mom used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Very similar to my "family" recipe. Quick to mix together & get in the pan. Didn't use the nuts, but added a few handsful of crushed cornflakes to the topping. Hubby loved it & we will take some to the neighbor's tonight-I know she's going to ask for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodeats

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Kingman, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States