Fruit Cocktail Cake VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
My girlfriend had given me a fruit cocktail recipe a few months back but it just wasn't coming out right whenever I baked it. I decided to search the site and saw this recipe. I baked it on Christmas day, this cake is SLAMMING. When my husband keeps going back for more you know its good. I bake an extra one and took it to work and it was gone in no time. Very, very good. I will definitely keep this one and throw out the one my girlfriend gave me. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2001
This is a GREAT cake. I made a few modifications. I added a teaspoon of vanilla to the "cake". I didn't have evaporated milk for the topping so I used sweetened condensed milk and omitted the sugar. It was fabulous--my family loved it. Definitely a "keeper".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This has to be the easiest recipe to follow and the best cake we have ever eaten! I added extra coconut and nuts because I can not get enough of those ingredients. The topping is just as wonderful as the cake. A very old fashioned flavor. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gelcope

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
Excellent taste, although very rich. I thought a 9X13 dish would last a long time. . . Ha!. . . Not at our house! Thanks, Nannie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2001
Great tasting cake - great blend of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I made the changes (added vanilla to cake, added more chopped nuts) which others had suggested. Very good flavor, moist! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Very similar to my "family" recipe. Quick to mix together & get in the pan. Didn't use the nuts, but added a few handsful of crushed cornflakes to the topping. Hubby loved it & we will take some to the neighbor's tonight-I know she's going to ask for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodeats

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Kingman, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
Turned out fantastic! I cooked the cake in a 9x9 inch pan, and made 6 cupcakes out of the rest. Topping was great, and the neighbors loved the cupcakes, while we snarfed the cake~ Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2001
What a great cake! I'll bet my brother would love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This has potential. Far to much butter in the "glaze" topping. Far too much baking soda in cake batter. This cake would be much better without the topping. Just thinly iced with a cream cheese icing. Or a thin glaze over the top if you bake this in a bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnaRae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission Valley, Texas, USA
Living In: Goliad, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make a Space Shuttle Cake

See how to make a birthday cake that looks like the space shuttle!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States