Fruit Cocktail Cake VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Tastes even better on the second day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by critter784

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This has potential. Far to much butter in the "glaze" topping. Far too much baking soda in cake batter. This cake would be much better without the topping. Just thinly iced with a cream cheese icing. Or a thin glaze over the top if you bake this in a bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnaRae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission Valley, Texas, USA
Living In: Goliad, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This was way to dense and sweet for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Very similar to my "family" recipe. Quick to mix together & get in the pan. Didn't use the nuts, but added a few handsful of crushed cornflakes to the topping. Hubby loved it & we will take some to the neighbor's tonight-I know she's going to ask for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodeats

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Kingman, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
My mom used to make this when I was a kid. It is soooo good. I call it ugly cake because it is not an attractive cake what so ever, but 1 bite and you are in ooey, gooey heaven! My husband turned his nose up at it when I told him the name and he saw it. He even said "what the heck is that thing" But he did try it and he LOVED it! (he is not even a coconut fan...) We had friends over and he could not stop telling them about how good this cake was! (of couse making them taste it too)I only wish it was better for the waist line! Oh well, better get back to running, because, I refuse to give this cake up;O) Thanks for this recipe, just like Mom used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This has to be the easiest recipe to follow and the best cake we have ever eaten! I added extra coconut and nuts because I can not get enough of those ingredients. The topping is just as wonderful as the cake. A very old fashioned flavor. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gelcope

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Much too sweet!! To make less sweet,forget the brown sugar/nut combination. Doesn't need it Also, definately cook the sugar, butter, milk combination until it thickens. Then add the coconut. The nuts can then be folded at this time into this topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAT79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
THIS IS PRETTY GOOD.THE CAKE IS JUST A 4 STAR TASTE(FRUIT DISAPEARED) BUT THE TOPPING IS A 5 STAR TASTE.NEXT TIME I MAKE ANY CAKE I WILL ICE IT WITH THIS COCONUT ICING.IT WOULD BE GREAT ON A SPICE CAKE OR A WHITE CAKE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Bailey, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
By far the best fruit cocktail I have had! Even better than what I remember as a child at grandma's house. A friend tried it, saying that she wasn't much of a coconut fan. She loved it so much that instead of just a taste had a whole piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Claus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
this is the best recipe i have ever tasted. it is moist and deliciously rich. it is fast and very impressive for dessert anytime. this is definetly a keeper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Old Forge, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States