Fruit Cocktail Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2000
I like to mash the fruit cocktail just a bit with a potato masher. Less "chunky" that way. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
Nice, goes very nice with tea and or ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Sorry, but this was a BIG disappointment. It came out too sugary and dense, like a fruitcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
best fruit cake ever,of course I changed and added to the recipe.I used fresh bag of mixed fruit and added cinnamon and nutmeg,Took longer than 35 mins to bake .Worth a try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Wonderful cake! I made a sauce of 1/4c butter, 1/2c sugar and 1/4c buttermilk. Boiled it for 5 minutes and added a tsp of vanilla. I poked holes in the cake with a fork while still hot and poured it over the cake. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I agree with Chad this came out too sugary and dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan Colleen Crawford
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Tip #1: If you don't have self-rising flour, just add 1 1/4 tsp baking powder and 1/14 tsp salt for every cup of flour in a recipe. :) Tip#2: It didn't work too well to convert to a bundt pan, or I needed to increase the time from 45 min to 55. Tasted pretty good anyway! Almost like bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Colleen Crawford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I loved it. I made half. I didn't have fruit cocktail so used mandarin oranges. I made an orange glaze for the top to use up the canned fruit juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States