Fruit Cocktail Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2000
I like to mash the fruit cocktail just a bit with a potato masher. Less "chunky" that way. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
best fruit cake ever,of course I changed and added to the recipe.I used fresh bag of mixed fruit and added cinnamon and nutmeg,Took longer than 35 mins to bake .Worth a try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Wonderful cake! I made a sauce of 1/4c butter, 1/2c sugar and 1/4c buttermilk. Boiled it for 5 minutes and added a tsp of vanilla. I poked holes in the cake with a fork while still hot and poured it over the cake. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I loved it. I made half. I didn't have fruit cocktail so used mandarin oranges. I made an orange glaze for the top to use up the canned fruit juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan Colleen Crawford
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Tip #1: If you don't have self-rising flour, just add 1 1/4 tsp baking powder and 1/14 tsp salt for every cup of flour in a recipe. :) Tip#2: It didn't work too well to convert to a bundt pan, or I needed to increase the time from 45 min to 55. Tasted pretty good anyway! Almost like bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Colleen Crawford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
Nice, goes very nice with tea and or ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Sorry, but this was a BIG disappointment. It came out too sugary and dense, like a fruitcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I agree with Chad this came out too sugary and dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make a Space Shuttle Cake

See how to make a birthday cake that looks like the space shuttle!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States