Fruit Cocktail Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2002
Okay - I have to shout here - INCREDIBLE!!! This was easy, fast, scrumptious, moist and dare I say it again - INCREDIBLE!! It was really good warm and even without whip cream, it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
Excellent! My mom use to make this back in the 60's. It's a classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARKS84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
I first tried this recipe back in the late 1960s, but lost the recipe. It came back when I saw "Steel Magnolias" as the Cup-a Cup-a Cake. I made it without the egg. And like the movie, I always serve it with good vanilla ice cream, just to cut the sugar! Simple to make for a last minute dessert, guests think you created a master piece.....and you did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Noble, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
Great taste! My oven didn't require the whole 40 minute baking time, 30ish was ideal. Also I'm going to reduce the amount of baking soda next time as there was a bit of a soda taste. Very moist and satisfying - and low fat, too!! This recipe is going into my "Favourites" file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
Very tasty! Perfect served warm on a chilly evening. Easy to prepare with few ingredients and with every measurement being either 1 cup, 1 tsp. or 1 can, it will be easy to memorize and whip up any time. Mine was done in about 30 minutes, so you may want to check it at the end of the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHURMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zapata, Texas, USA
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2002
Very good, especially for a cake that is essentially fat-free! Does satisfy that sweet tooth without the guilt. Tastes much better cold or room temperature than warm, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
Yum! This was the first (and definitely not the last) time Ive made this cake, and it was great! Super-moist and sweet! Loved the brown sugar on the top - much better than icing. I threw in a banana because it was a little ripe.. a nice addition to a great cake. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUSSYFOOTER96

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
We really enjoyed this. I reduced the sugar in the recipe by 1/4 cup and also reduced the brown sugar that I sprinkled on top to 3 T and this was still sweet enough. It was perfect this way. I used canned peaches in juice that I diced up. This is a great recipe and you wouldn't know that it is low fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Not cool. This was so sweet that I am surprised that I still have any teeth left. The truly odd thing about it was that the sweetness completely lacked a flavour beyond the brown sugar. It just needed something more to it, more fruit, some spices - cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice whatever, and a drastic drop in sugar as well roughly 2 tbs of brown sugar sprinkled on top before baking & a light dusting of icing sugar after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
It's really not "incredible" or that unique tasting, but it is a very easy cake and tastes good for what it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claire03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States