Fruit Cocktail Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I make this all the time. I do cut the sugar to 3/4 cup and only use 1/4 cup of brown sugar. That cuts down on the sweetness. I also add pecans to top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
As others have noted, my Mom used to make this when I was a Kid. I was cleaning out my pantry and found several cans of Fruit Cocktail. I added about half a cup of Walnuts and an extra Egg Yolk. I used 2/3 cup of Sugar. Before I added the Brown Sugar on top I added 2 Tablespoons of Ground Flax Seed on top of the Batter. (I almost always add Flax Seed to Baked Desserts for a Healthy Kick) LOL......Tasty, tasty, tasty! Next time I will top with coconut. Aloha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I thought it was okay but a weird texture. My hunny can't seem to stay out of it though. I will make again as stated just because he enjoyed it so much but I won't be partaking in it. Also cook times seemed off by a bit, mine needed maybe five extra minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I thought this recipe was a little odd, since there was no oil and no applesauce. I was concerned that it wouldn't rise, or that it would fall apart. It did rise, but the batter was very sweet, as some of the other reviewers stated, so I cut back on the brown sugar sprinkled on top to about 1/4 cup. This coffee cake reminds me of pineapple upside-down cake, but it needs a pinch of salt, and perhaps a bit of cinnamon to boost the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
We really enjoyed this. I reduced the sugar in the recipe by 1/4 cup and also reduced the brown sugar that I sprinkled on top to 3 T and this was still sweet enough. It was perfect this way. I used canned peaches in juice that I diced up. This is a great recipe and you wouldn't know that it is low fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Surprisingly yummy! I chopped up the fruit cocktial a bit so there was smaller chunks in the cake. I also reduced the sugar because I didn't want it to be too sweet. I cannot believe it is non-fat. We served it with cool whip mixed with cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VIRGOVICKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Not cool. This was so sweet that I am surprised that I still have any teeth left. The truly odd thing about it was that the sweetness completely lacked a flavour beyond the brown sugar. It just needed something more to it, more fruit, some spices - cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice whatever, and a drastic drop in sugar as well roughly 2 tbs of brown sugar sprinkled on top before baking & a light dusting of icing sugar after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
This recipe was okay. It was quick to make and I had all the ingredients. 40 minutes seems like a long time to cook. Mine was done all the way through in 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Way too sweet for our taste. It's easy, but I can't get past how sweet it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States