Fruit Cocktail Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
Excellent! My mom use to make this back in the 60's. It's a classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARKS84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2002
Okay - I have to shout here - INCREDIBLE!!! This was easy, fast, scrumptious, moist and dare I say it again - INCREDIBLE!! It was really good warm and even without whip cream, it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
Very tasty! Perfect served warm on a chilly evening. Easy to prepare with few ingredients and with every measurement being either 1 cup, 1 tsp. or 1 can, it will be easy to memorize and whip up any time. Mine was done in about 30 minutes, so you may want to check it at the end of the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHURMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zapata, Texas, USA
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
I "5 times" this recipe to make a large cookie sheet square. I also added coconut. It turn out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
Great taste! My oven didn't require the whole 40 minute baking time, 30ish was ideal. Also I'm going to reduce the amount of baking soda next time as there was a bit of a soda taste. Very moist and satisfying - and low fat, too!! This recipe is going into my "Favourites" file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
It's really not "incredible" or that unique tasting, but it is a very easy cake and tastes good for what it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claire03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
I first tried this recipe back in the late 1960s, but lost the recipe. It came back when I saw "Steel Magnolias" as the Cup-a Cup-a Cake. I made it without the egg. And like the movie, I always serve it with good vanilla ice cream, just to cut the sugar! Simple to make for a last minute dessert, guests think you created a master piece.....and you did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Noble, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
Yum! This was the first (and definitely not the last) time Ive made this cake, and it was great! Super-moist and sweet! Loved the brown sugar on the top - much better than icing. I threw in a banana because it was a little ripe.. a nice addition to a great cake. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUSSYFOOTER96

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
As others have noted, my Mom used to make this when I was a Kid. I was cleaning out my pantry and found several cans of Fruit Cocktail. I added about half a cup of Walnuts and an extra Egg Yolk. I used 2/3 cup of Sugar. Before I added the Brown Sugar on top I added 2 Tablespoons of Ground Flax Seed on top of the Batter. (I almost always add Flax Seed to Baked Desserts for a Healthy Kick) LOL......Tasty, tasty, tasty! Next time I will top with coconut. Aloha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I make this all the time. I do cut the sugar to 3/4 cup and only use 1/4 cup of brown sugar. That cuts down on the sweetness. I also add pecans to top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States