Fruit Cocktail Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
Yum! This was the first (and definitely not the last) time Ive made this cake, and it was great! Super-moist and sweet! Loved the brown sugar on the top - much better than icing. I threw in a banana because it was a little ripe.. a nice addition to a great cake. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUSSYFOOTER96

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
I first tried this recipe back in the late 1960s, but lost the recipe. It came back when I saw "Steel Magnolias" as the Cup-a Cup-a Cake. I made it without the egg. And like the movie, I always serve it with good vanilla ice cream, just to cut the sugar! Simple to make for a last minute dessert, guests think you created a master piece.....and you did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Noble, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
I did not care for this. There was no flavor. I'm sorry. It was a waste of ingredients. I agree with some of the other reviewers that suggested it would be good with just one type of fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
This was good. I used the lite fruit cocktail (with juice instead of syrup) and I still thought it was too sweet. Also, I think it would work much better with plain peaches or pineapple. It is almost a cobbler. I would make this in the winter when fresh fruit isn't readily available by all means.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stuart, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bassett, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
It's really not "incredible" or that unique tasting, but it is a very easy cake and tastes good for what it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claire03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
This recipe gets points for being quick and easy, but the finished product was just okay. Other than the extreme sweetness, there just wasn't that much flavor. Cool-Whip helped, but it was still pretty bland. We did like the way the brown sugar made the top crunchy, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
I "5 times" this recipe to make a large cookie sheet square. I also added coconut. It turn out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
good. i did it in muffin tins, so to make it easier for the kids potions, worked wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
Great taste! My oven didn't require the whole 40 minute baking time, 30ish was ideal. Also I'm going to reduce the amount of baking soda next time as there was a bit of a soda taste. Very moist and satisfying - and low fat, too!! This recipe is going into my "Favourites" file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
Quick and easy. It tasted similar to a pineapple upside-down cake. Next time, I think I would only use a can of pineapple instead of the fruit cocktail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States