Fruit Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2004
This was a wonderful recipe. My helpful hints. #1 Empty the fruit cocktail into a strainer and drain for a couple of hours in the refrigerator. #2 Mix the fruit cocktail and cream cheese together first then slowly incorporate the pudding mix. #3 Line a 1qt glass-mixing bowl with saran wrap leaving a generous amount over the edges. Spoon in the mixture and fold the saran wrap edges over the top and pat the mix down firmly. #4 Refrigerate overnight. Just before serving unwrap the “ball” and invert onto a 10-inch pie plate. Serve with vanilla wafers around the ball filling the pie plate. This was a hit at my work potluck today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rogers, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2000
I've made this for church and for work and everyone loves it. One lady said "It is the best thing I have ever put in my mouth." I got special requests for it at work. I serve it with wheat thins and pretzels. The nutty flavor of these go well with the sweetness of the dip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
This was a big hit at the party I took it to. Was too soft to mold into a ball, so will probably cut down some on the fruit next time. Served it as a dip with vanilla wafers....mmmm,delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
This recipe takes so few ingredients. I had 3 people ask for the recipe within a half hour. You can dip anything from pretzels, crackers, or graham snacks in this dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GWENJC2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkeley Springs, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Piffard, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
It would not shape into a cheese ball, so I just put it into a dish. Next ime I would just add the nuts instead of trying to roll them onto a ball
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
Mmmm, yummy! This was really tasty. I made sure to drain the fruit enough, and I took the advice of another reviewer and pressed the fruit with paper towels right before I mixed it in with the other ingredients. I didn't have enough time to wait for this to chill to form it into a ball, but I did put it in a glass pie dish and sprinkle nuts on top. This was pretty and tasty too, perfect for a hot summer evening! I served this with 'Nilla Wafers and Graham crackers, and by the end of the evening half of it was already gone! Thanks for the super recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauseon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
My family and friends love this fruit ball. I've found it's very important that the fruit cocktail be well drained. I blot it between paper towels to remove the liquid. If too much liquid is left on the fruit cocktail the ball won't form properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Valley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Englewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2000
I made a half recipe and it was way too much. It is really difficult for the ball to hold its shape. Probably best to serve it in a little dish, like a dip. I thought it tasted good, but doubt if I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
This was really good tasting but made way too much. It was also more like a spread instead of a cheese ball when I made it. I would make it again but half of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2000
The ingredients make for an interesting recipe. I however needed to drain the fruit for an extended period of time (which I didn't) so therefore I could not roll it into a ball. I may try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Fruit Dip II

A light, fluffy, super-easy dip with cream cheese and marshmallow crème.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States