Fruit Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Unbelievably delicious! I made, what I thought was a HUGE mistake with the fruit cocktail. After reading everyone's reviews and warnings of ensuring that the fruit was well drained, I was worried because I needed to make the fruitball within a 30 minute time period. I drained the LITE SYRUP fruit cocktail for about 5 minutes, then put in a mini-food processor to chop. I had the wrong blade, and ended up with a course fruit puree. I put 5-6 papertowels in a colander and tried to get a little more moisture out. I put the finely chopped pecans into the fruit puree and hoped for the best. IT EASILY ROLLED INTO BEAUTIFUL BALL! I had no excess water at all, and it was finished in less than 20 minutes from start to finish. I also used sugar-free vanilla pudding, and added the almond extract. DELICIOUS!! It was the talk of the appetizers, and everyone wanted the recipe. Absolutely one of my favorite recipes now! Served with Wheatables and Graham Crackers. I liked the salt/sweet combination, but other's enjoyed the sweet on sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
My mom used to make this for cookouts and church gatherings and it is so good! You can substitue the almonds for pecans, which is how my mom's recipe was, but either way it is yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I made it for my a graduation party, it was a hit and I was just asked to make it for a birthday party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I made this the night before a luncheon at work. It was very quick and easy to make. I served it in a dish instead of rolling it into a ball. Went great with Wheat Thin crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Neighbors decided to do a Fondue night and my cupboards were empty! I checked the site and found I had all the ingredients for this. Since there were 8 of us, I cut the recipe in half. I mixed it up and let it sit for 30 minutes while we got ready. BIG HIT with everyone! The guys just kept stuffing it in while the gals finished preparing fondue. It is healthty and so easy. I served it with Triscuts and Carr's Whole Wheat Crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I served this at a few potlucks and at my wedding. Everyone loved it and thought it was a great change from the traditional cheese ball. After the first time I made it, I cut the recipe in half because it was so huge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Miller LaMee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
this was okay, not the big hit of the night though. I served with graham and nilla wafers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
MMMMmmmmmm!!! I love this site!! This is awesome!!! I halved the recipe and drained the fruit cocktail overnight. I then pulsed the fruit a few times in my chopper which worked great. After chopping I still had to wring out the water by squeezing the fruit through a towel. I did not add the nuts and added about a 1/4 tsp. of almond extract as others suggested. It Made all the difference in the world! I wrapped the ball in Saran Wrap and chilled overnight. Even halving the recipe made a large ball. This would taste great on anything from Nilla Wafers to Ritz Crackers! Give it a try - you won't be disappointed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Macungie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I halved the recipe, and it still made a large ball. Big hit on Christmas! Many asked for the recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Seidenspinner Durjan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
I love this, and my friends expect me to make it now for all our food events! It's amazing on graham crackers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Masontown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Pine Cone Cheese Ball

See how to make a holiday cheese ball that looks like a pine cone.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States