Fruit and Vegetable Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
Quick, easy and delicious!! Followed directions for 4 exactly (except-used 14 oz can of sauerkraut and stayed with amt. of sugar for 8 oz. can - adjust to your taste). Two of us ate the whole thing and we were glad of extra kraut. Dinner was made in no time and I served it with buttered egg noodes - there is lots of gravy for it and buttered rye bread. It's up to you whether you want a thin sauce or not - I waited until the very end of cooking and added a bit of cornstarch and cold water to thicken it to the consistency I wanted. I think kids would really like this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
Really good recipe, but you know that every cook has to add their own personality to the dish, so here are the "enhancements" that I made. I used all ingredients except the vegetable oil and cornstarch, and I used a 12 ounce package of refrigerated sauerkraut, so I increased the brown sugar to 3/4 cup. I sprayed a skillet with Pam, and browned the chops. I removed the chops, and sauteed the onion in the same pan until tender. In the meantime, I mixed the kraut, brown sugar and apples, added the sauteed onion, deglazed the pan and added the drippings to the kraut mixture and seasoned it with salt and pepper. I love my slow cooker, so I place the chops in the bottom, and poured the rest of the mixture over the top. Cooked it on low for about 6 hours. The chops were tender, the sauerkraut nicely sweet and sour and my husband ate every bite, which is my barometer of a good recipe. Definitely added this one to my recipe box. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2003
Very good! I used a little less brown sugar because my husband doesn't like sweet meat dishes, and I didn't add the corn starch. It didn't seem to need it. I think it depends on how much juice is in your saurkraut. It was an excellent dish and we will be making it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
Wow! I have to say I was a little nervous to try this recipe out cuz i dont like sauerkraut too much. but somehow, i attempted it anyway. It was very easy to make and very delicious. Im definitley making this again! My whole family loved it and my older brother was nagging at me for not making more. Can't wait to make my boyfriend try it! Thanx alot Shirl!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
This was wonderful!!! I used a 14 oz can of sauerkraut and didn't use any cornstarch though -- didn't need thickening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
This was very good and simple. Be aware that the sauerkraut turns out pretty sweet. I'll make this again. My husband liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
This was so fast, easy, and yummy! I used red and green apples as another reviewer suggested. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Republic, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
This recipe suprised me. Very skeptical. The ingredients didn't seem.....right together. Wanted something different. I saw the good ratings and figured, why not? Well...it was great! Smells good, taste good. Next time I'll brown the pork a little better so that the finished result wont look so bland. I used both green and red apples. Hubby and my 3 and 7 year old was happy with it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
This was great and easy, will definately make it again. Didn't change a thing. However, I had very large pork chops (better for stuffing) and I would recommend making this recipe with thinner pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
WOW! What a surprise! I was a little scared to try this recipe because of the ingredients, but with the good reviews, I had to try. I am so glad I did! The flavor is great. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TSchritter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingman, Arizona, USA
Living In: Walnut Cove, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States