Fruit Ambrosia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
This is an excellent recipe! I received many compliments on it. It's the lime juice that makes it different. Try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Zephyrhills, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
I made this delicious dessert on Easter Sunday, and it received rave reviews!!! Everyone loved it!! The perfect blending of the sweetened condensed milk and yogurt made it not too sweet. I omitted the lime, because I thought it might make it a bit too tart for my taste. I didn't add the nuts either because I'm not a lover of nuts. I did add one sliced banana one hour prior to serving. This dish certainly has my approval!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
Lovely flavor, but be prepared to add more ingredients! I used low-fat condensed milk, non-fat yogurt, and followed the recipe in terms of the lime juice and zest. When I added the fruit, marshmallows, and coconut, however, there just seemed like too much liquid still (even taking into account the fact that the marshmallows would eventually soak some of that up while the salad chilled overnight). So I added another can of pineapple, which luckily just happened to be in my kitchen. Had I had another can of mandarin oranges, I'd have added that as well. I wound up putting 1 1/2 cups of marshmallows in, and about the same amount of flaked, sweetened coconut. I also had some unsweetened coconut from Whole Foods, which is much drier than the sweetened stuff you find in the "baking" aisle at the regular grocery store; so I dumped a little of that in, to soak up some extra liquid while not adding any extra sweetness. I'm glad I did. After chilling and setting, the salad is quite nice! Of course, with all the extra ingredients, it serves way more people now, but it tastes so yummy, you don't have to worry about having leftovers lying around. Great idea for summer potlucks or picnics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetTooth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
For personal preference I left out the coconut and pecans. I wanted a very colorful salad to take to a potluck, so I made this one and added fresh kiwi, grapes and strawberries. Some thought the dressing was a little too strong on the lime, but I loved it. Thanks, just what I needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
I had to use 2 cans of pineapple and 2 cans of oranges for the amount of liquid. My family loved the flavor. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
I'm glad I read other reviews before making this recipe. There is a lot of liquid so be prepared to add a whole lot more fruit. I added green grapes in addition to the oranges and pineapple and used a little cocoanut and just the zest of one lime plus the lime juice. The lime made the taste distinctive. I would definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I did not care for this recipe at all. It was way too sweet and there was too much liquid and it really did not look appetizing at all. Even after draining the excess liquid, it didn't taste good. Ended up throwing it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
excellent recipe! I didn't have any grapes at home, so i omitted them, and added some lime zest. It was a wonderful touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misha Stewart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This is always a hit at the office potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Kryvko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazelwood, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I made quite a few little changes to this recipe. I omitted the sweetened condensed milk, replacing it with 2 tablespoons of honey. I reduced the lime juice to 1 tablespoon and added lime zest. That made plenty of dressing for 2 cans of pineapple, one large can of mandarin oranges, and the remaining ingredients. Very good and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theinnerlight

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States