Frozen Summer Slush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2003
I can't believe more people have not tried this wonderful slush! This same recipe I have made for at least 20 yrs. It is so refreshing on warm summer days and anyone who has had it, loves it! I shave off frozen mixture with a spoon and serve in a glass with just enough Sprite so that it is still slushy frozen. Mix and break up slush with spoon so Sprite is evenly distributed. Should be on the thick side. Gin keeps it from getting so frozen that you can't get it out, so don't leave it out. And yes, you can feel pretty darn good on these! Awesome! Thanks Johanne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2002
This is a great alternative to the "usual". We've had this recipe in our family for years - but with Amaretto instead of gin. Try it! You'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2004
This was great! Made it for a dinner party - everyone loved it. I used Bacardi Limon Rum instead of Gin or Vodka. Some people didn't know it had alcohol in it so beware and warn your guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
totally awsome! This is now our summer drink. I made it virgin and froze it and added what ever liquour guests wanted. also added sliced limes, oranges and cherries. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAGDIEGO
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
I've made this twice - the first time I brewed the tea too strong, which was a huge mistake. The tea shouldn't be strong tea, although the recipe doesn't specify. The second time I let it steep only about 3 minutes, and that was perfect. I put in about 2 1/2 cups of gin, and it didn't seem strong at all. Everyone at bunko loved it, even the woman who swore she didn't like gin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
We've made this recipe for years with 2 1/2 cups of rum, mixing it with Sprite to form a thick slush. Great for hot summer days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
I used Arizona Sweet tea instead of making my own tea, and used vodka instead of gin. it was the favorite at my BBQ this summer. Cant wait till next summer to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
Great drink!!! I served it at a Memorial Day party and everyone raved over it. I also used Limon Rum and Sprite, as suggested by others. I've already made it a second time!!! :) I will always have a batch sitting in the freezer for a "ready to serve" drink available at all times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
YUM!!! I kept a big bowl of this in my freezer the entire last month of summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
I had many, many requests for this recipie after a recent party. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Whiskey Slush

Cool off a hot summer evening with a refreshing, icy whiskey cocktail.

Frozen Mudslide

Turn coffee liqueur, Irish cream, and vodka into an icy treat.

How to Make Frozen Margaritas

See how to blend the perfect frozen margarita.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States