Frozen Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
This is truly an excellent pie. One minor problem with the recipe keeps it from getting 5 stars: after baking the gingersnap crust, if you just put ice cream right on, the crust starts falling apart. The answer: freeze your baked crust for around an hour and you will be able to put on the other layers with ease. As far as taste goes, this pie is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone LOVED it! The only thing is that it needs to be thawed out before serving(which it doesn't say in the recipe)-it was SO HARD to cut the crust. Other than that, it was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
this was wonderful, a treat for kids and grownups alike! We had it for Thanksgiving in Jamaica and it was perfect! Just remember to use a DEEP DISH pie plate, as it really fills it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This pie was SO EASY to make...and tasted so GOOD!!! I made the crust in the evening and left it in the (baking stone) pie plate. The next day I just had to finish it...what a breeze, yet it looks and tastes like it would be diffiult to make! My 10 yr old son asked me never to make "traditional pumpkin pie" again...he really enjoyed it. It cut beautifully in my pampered cef pie plate. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Excellent pie. Because I love pumpkin I only added 1 cup of cool whip for a really powerful pumpkin flavor. Doing that also made all of the ingredients fit perfectly into the pie pan. My only complaint was that the ice cream got a little icy. Any suggestions to remedy that for next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2001
use use a 9x9 pan or deep dish pie pan otherwise you need to freeze in layers to have it all fit in the pie pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
My sister makes a recipe similar to this but the pumpkin layer was always kinda blah. I thought I'd try this recipe and oh boy! The pumpkin layer was so delicious! The whipped topping makes the pumpkin creamy and with a very pleasing texture. The ingredients of this recipe come together perfectly! But like everyone else I was getting a little annoyed about my crust breaking. But after the first bite, my furrowed brow disappeared. This recipe is so much more interesting then regular pumpkin pie.I will certainly make this every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
This pie is amazing! It was a perfect dessert for a fall party, with traditional ingredients and a fun spin! Don't hesitate to make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EPRUETZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
A nice option for something different for a thanksgiving classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smbilleck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States