Frozen Bananas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I remember having something like this as a kid, and liking it. That's what made me do a search for frozen banana treats. But based on this recipe, I'd have to say I'm not a semisweet chocolate kinda gal. I would try milk chocolate next time. The peanut butter was very messy to apply to the frozen bananas. I'm thinking melting the peanut butter and milk chocolate together might be the way to go. Or using nutella, like others mentioned, would be good. However, they were also very difficult to eat. Admittedly, I didn't have them on popsicle sticks--they were just little chunks of banana. But the frozen bananas were rock solid. I ate a few that way, then tried thawing them for a bit, but then they got all mushy and kinda gross. I guess this isn't the recipe for me. Thanks for sharing. I'm glad others love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
These are so amazing! Didn't have popsicle sticks so I just cut the bananas in 4 pieces each. Dipped in dark chocolate. The chocolate froze too fast to put the nuts (I used cashews) on, so the next time I made it I mixed the chocolate and nuts before dipping banana pieces. Also read somewhere that you should use really ripe bananas, that way the banana flavour is really apparent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
OH MY GOODNESS! These are amazing! I make them up every other day in the summer and they're gone before I know it! I have condensed the recipie to just slicing an banana, putting a glob of Kraft extra creamy peanutbutter on the top, and freezing but you can get as fancy as you would like! Tastes the best with bananas that have small brown speckles on them! Anyways, I was unsure about freezing bananas and eating them but these are just delicious! Great for a hot summer afternoon! MODIFICATION: try with peanutbutter mixed with honey rolled in crushed dad's oatmeal cookies. It's AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maddie_271

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
These are terrific. I ended up putting a layer of Nutella over the frozen peanut butter layer (instead of the melted chocolate chips) and sprinkling the bananas with chopped, salted peanuts. I didn't have any sticks so I just wrapped them individually in wax paper. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyW.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hilton, New York, USA
Living In: Churchville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Yum! Kids and parents loved these. I didn't want to use peanut butter b/c of allergies so I used Nutella, then I realized that it didn't even need the chocolate over. Just bananas and nutella. Really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Very yummy. Made it for a party, and the kids present loved them. Although, I think my husband liked them more haha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Oh yum! I'm always trying to find healthy desserts for my significant other who every now and then gets a hankering for something sweet. These are SO good and you're right Kelsey, there are so many possibilities to experiment with. For a lighter and more refreshing treat, I also dipped the banana's into yogurt and rolled in a healthy cereal. Guilt free and delicious. Thank you Kelsey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
OMG! My niece went crazy for these and so did the other kids - I guess that's why I now claim the title of favorite Aunt! These are so good and the possibilities are endless in terms of what you stick on these. I added some coconut along with the chopped nuts but the kids loved the assortment of rice krispies, dried fruit, M&M's, and colored sprinkles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
yummy. i had this for the first time several summers ago. I watched a group of kids munch these down with speed. when I tried one myself. ohh did i enjoy it!!!! LOVE THEM. also taste good drizzled in honey and rolled in cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kharis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
This literally is one of those clean-out-your-cupboards summer treats. You can use any kind of chips, you can use Nutella instead of peanut butter, and you can roll it in just about anything. Nuts, sprinkles, granola, cereal.....the skies the limit! Great treat to make with your kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bananas Foster II

An easy, elegant dessert with sautéed bananas, ice cream, and rum sauce.

Irish Bananas

Top ice cream with bananas simmered in butter, Irish whiskey, and brown sugar.

Frozen Mudslide

Turn coffee liqueur, Irish cream, and vodka into an icy treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States