Frosty Strawberry Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2015
Tasty and light, this makes an excellent summer-time dessert. This is very easy to make into a gluten-free dessert --just use a gluten-free flour! As others noted, this recipe seems to be missing a couple key steps--whip the egg substitutes separately, then whip the heavy whipping cream separately. THEN fold the eggs, cream, lemon juice, and strawberries and sugar together. Prepare the night before and stick in freezer. Next time, I'm going to double the crumb mixture; it took nearly the entire amount to lay on the bottom of my 9x13 pan (leaving barely anything for sprinkling on top). I had extra strawberries, so I added more to the filling than the recipe called for, and since I had barely any crumb mixture for the top, I placed extra sliced strawberries on top. It looked beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
A few things about this recipe weren't quite right in my opinion. Firstly, the amount of sugar is very very high. I cut the white sugar down to less than 3/4 of a cup, but it was still so sweet that my 8 year old daughter couldn't finish hers. The mixture would be very thin if put into a 13x9 dish. I tried it with the crumbs initially, but you would only get a thin layer on the bottom and the bars would all be very thin as well. I recommend a smaller dish. It would be much smarter to take the leftover sugar from the strawberries, and mix it with the folded egg whites to help them keep their volume. Once this is frozen it will be very hard, so you should chop up the strawberries very small and cut the mixture into squares about an hour after putting in the freezer, or you'll never get it out of the dish. Finally, this recipe contains raw egg whites, which is not immediately obvious from looking at the finished product. Young children shouldn't eat raw egg whites, I recommend you add a health warning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Leci

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
As far as the debate over method, it's a no-brainer for me. Even if I had a stand mixer, I would so rather wash another bowl than extend the whipping time -especially in a summer kitchen! Either way, you'll love this classic delight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
WHIP THE EGG WHITES SEPARATELY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
EXCELLENT! Picked it because it looked easy; it took a bit more time than I anticipated however. Suggestions: 1) I doubled crust - however, I baked it all on one cookie sheet - therefore there was too much of it on the pan and it took too long to get the nuts toasted. Next time I will use two pans to bake a double crust. 2) Eggs do not whip up well with the lemon, etc. in them at the start. Next time I will beat them almost to peaks and then add sugar,lemon juice and then stir in strawberries and hope they will peak better, then add the whipped cream; (way I solved it this time was to add another egg white which helped a bit...) 3) I solved the strawberry dilemma by taking others' advice and chopping them up really well. 4) I let it freeze overnight and took out 15 minutes before serving. Great taste. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Poorly written in directions. The strawberries should be added last. Tried modifying what some recommended by beating egg whites separate but still got soup. Way too much sugar too. Would not recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
This is my family's favorite dessert. We have called it "Strawberry Yum" forever, and it has been a tradition to have it for Mother's Day. I substitute pecans for the walnuts, which gives it a nicer flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Deltaville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Tasted good but nobody but me liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I wanted a thicker crust so I increased 1 1/2 times the crust amount ( 1 1/2 c flour, 3/4 c br sugar, 3/4c chopped walnuts and 3/4 c butter). I finely chopped up 2 c. of fresh strawberries and sprinkled 1T of white sugar over the strawberries to help make it more sweeter and release its' red juices. When I folded the strawberry mixture into the whipped cream, its' juices made a pretty pink color. And when I poured the filling over the crust it made nice pink and white swirls throughout the filling. I froze this dessert for at least 8 hours before cutting into it. Once frozen solid I had no problem cutting into the squares. I placed a dollop of homemade whipped cream from this site,"Sweetened Whipped Cream". This dessert makes a pretty presentation with flecked strawberry bits in the pinkish hue filling. The strawberries are definitely sweet and juicy. The filling itself is light, fluffy and creamy. I like the crunchy toasted walnuts in the crust as well as the topping. It adds a nice texture to the dessert. It is not too sweet -just right. The crust ended up being the right amount for this size dessert and I am glad I increased the amount. We all enjoyed this cool and creamy dessert. Frozen whipped cream blended with chopped strawberries and topped with a crunchy walnut topping, is a refreshing and perfect way to end a hot, humid day here in Hawaii!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This was really good, and not difficult, although time consumong, to make. I was surprised at the instructions to beat the egg whites with the strawberry slices, sugar and lemon juice. Although some reviewers have said it doesn't work, it does. You just have to beat it for a long time. 25 minutes with my hand mixer. This is definitely a recipe for a stand mixer, if you have one. I used real whipping cream, because I don't like Cool Whip. Wil definitely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States