Frosty Strawberry Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I've loved this dessert since my mother started making it when I was a kid. The strawberry cream is relatively light and the crust is just delicious. We use pecans instead of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I first learned of this recipe in Home Ec class when I was in High School! (aprox. 1980) We made it in class and I have made it every year for Christmas ever since! The only thimg I do differently is I double the recipe for the crust because we love more of it and I put quite a bit of the crust mixture on top. I also add more strawberries and I beat the strawberries with the eggs and sugar. However, I save some bigger chunks to fold in with the whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy64

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elyria, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
The whole family enjoyed it!! Even though its a mess of dishes it was great. Everyone that tried it love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
This is delicious! Like another reviewer, I too will chop my strawberries next time instead of slicing them. Will just make it easier to eat and serve since they do harden. Really delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I've been looking for this recipe for years! This is sooo good! Took about 9 hrs. to freeze well and I would add 1/4 or 1/2 T. less lemon juice next time. But still good as is if you like it more tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Made this as a birthday treat for my husband. It was a hit and my first attempt to whip egg whites (easy after all:). I did chunk the strawberries so they would be easier to eat when frozen. Perfect for a hot summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARTIMEL
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I am shocked that so few people have tried this recipe...it is truly fantastic, and quite simple to put together. After reading the reviews, I made a couple of changes...I chopped up my two cups of sliced strawberries to make them finer, as one reviewer said that the sliced strawberries got very hard when frozen and made the dessert hard to cut. This was a great idea...the strawberry juices got into the fluffy mixture, turning it a pretty pale pink color. And I had no problems cutting the frozen dessert. Also, I cut the lemon juice to about 1 tsp.; I may add more next time, as the dessert was pretty sweet. I had a bit of a problem with the meringue portion, as my sugar didn't dissolve, no matter how much I whipped it. When I added the strawberries, though, the sugar dissolved just fine and the dessert came out fabulously well. My family absolutely loved it..the only complaint they had was that there should have been more crust. So next time I may make 1 1/2 times the crust portion, to make a thicker crust. Thanks for sharing this recipe...it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This was really good! One thing I did based on a review was to make 1 1/2 times the amount of the crust. While the crust is sooo yummy, it dominated the dish, so the next time I make it I think I'll make as written and see how it tastes. Also, I chopped the strawberries fine but they were still icy so next time I will mash them up. I have to give it 5 stars though because it's easy to make and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
We loved this recipe - added blueberries since we were going with the "red, white and blue" theme. So happy that no "frozen whipped topping" was an ingredient (never use the stuff) but instead the recipe called for real cream, not "oil". Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Followed the directions exactly and it came out great! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States