Frosty Strawberry Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I am shocked that so few people have tried this recipe...it is truly fantastic, and quite simple to put together. After reading the reviews, I made a couple of changes...I chopped up my two cups of sliced strawberries to make them finer, as one reviewer said that the sliced strawberries got very hard when frozen and made the dessert hard to cut. This was a great idea...the strawberry juices got into the fluffy mixture, turning it a pretty pale pink color. And I had no problems cutting the frozen dessert. Also, I cut the lemon juice to about 1 tsp.; I may add more next time, as the dessert was pretty sweet. I had a bit of a problem with the meringue portion, as my sugar didn't dissolve, no matter how much I whipped it. When I added the strawberries, though, the sugar dissolved just fine and the dessert came out fabulously well. My family absolutely loved it..the only complaint they had was that there should have been more crust. So next time I may make 1 1/2 times the crust portion, to make a thicker crust. Thanks for sharing this recipe...it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I wanted a thicker crust so I increased 1 1/2 times the crust amount ( 1 1/2 c flour, 3/4 c br sugar, 3/4c chopped walnuts and 3/4 c butter). I finely chopped up 2 c. of fresh strawberries and sprinkled 1T of white sugar over the strawberries to help make it more sweeter and release its' red juices. When I folded the strawberry mixture into the whipped cream, its' juices made a pretty pink color. And when I poured the filling over the crust it made nice pink and white swirls throughout the filling. I froze this dessert for at least 8 hours before cutting into it. Once frozen solid I had no problem cutting into the squares. I placed a dollop of homemade whipped cream from this site,"Sweetened Whipped Cream". This dessert makes a pretty presentation with flecked strawberry bits in the pinkish hue filling. The strawberries are definitely sweet and juicy. The filling itself is light, fluffy and creamy. I like the crunchy toasted walnuts in the crust as well as the topping. It adds a nice texture to the dessert. It is not too sweet -just right. The crust ended up being the right amount for this size dessert and I am glad I increased the amount. We all enjoyed this cool and creamy dessert. Frozen whipped cream blended with chopped strawberries and topped with a crunchy walnut topping, is a refreshing and perfect way to end a hot, humid day here in Hawaii!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
This is delicious! Like another reviewer, I too will chop my strawberries next time instead of slicing them. Will just make it easier to eat and serve since they do harden. Really delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I first learned of this recipe in Home Ec class when I was in High School! (aprox. 1980) We made it in class and I have made it every year for Christmas ever since! The only thimg I do differently is I double the recipe for the crust because we love more of it and I put quite a bit of the crust mixture on top. I also add more strawberries and I beat the strawberries with the eggs and sugar. However, I save some bigger chunks to fold in with the whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy64

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elyria, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Loved the crust and the overall flavor, but even though I cut the strawberries into small pieces and let it sit out at least 15 minutes, they were still frozen hard. I might try mashing them next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Wonderful summer dessert...two changes I will make next time will be to chop or even mash the strawberries and to make a litte more crust. But overall very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Made this as a birthday treat for my husband. It was a hit and my first attempt to whip egg whites (easy after all:). I did chunk the strawberries so they would be easier to eat when frozen. Perfect for a hot summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARTIMEL
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I've loved this dessert since my mother started making it when I was a kid. The strawberry cream is relatively light and the crust is just delicious. We use pecans instead of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This was an amazing recipe! I followed everything to the tee except for making 1&1/2 of the crust. I feel as though you could even double the crust! Make sure that you whip the eggs and lemon long enough as well as the heavy cream, otherwise you will have a hard time with the dessert setting up. Will make over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deeganmotox14

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This was really good! One thing I did based on a review was to make 1 1/2 times the amount of the crust. While the crust is sooo yummy, it dominated the dish, so the next time I make it I think I'll make as written and see how it tastes. Also, I chopped the strawberries fine but they were still icy so next time I will mash them up. I have to give it 5 stars though because it's easy to make and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States