Frosty Strawberry Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
This recipe did not impress me. It was good, but I have no usual desire to make it again or make it again with variations. I made it in a 9 x 9 pan, to have a thicker crust - 4 days ago - and there are still left overs in the freezer. Very odd in my house. We will move on and try other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I made this recipe for a potluck dinner we were going to two days later. I had to taste it to make sure it was ok for them but after that, I decided to make something else and keep this for us. It was so delicious and easy to make. I did decide to chop the strawberries instead of slicing them but I followed the recipe otherwise. I would also like a thicker crust--it was so tasty! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
I brought this dessert to work and it was a hit all around, everyone loved it! I did modify the recipe a little based on my preferences and other reviews : increased 1 1/2 times the crust amount, mashed the strawberries and replaced walnuts with pecans. This will be my "go-to" recipe for summer. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
This was really tasty and perfect for summer! A couple little changes: I don't like walnuts so I used pecans which were great. I also doubled the crust/topping and it was just the right amount for a 13x9 pan. Also from the reviews, I chopped the strawberries rather than sliced...A bit messy, but worth it! Even my 8 year old who won't eat anything that doesn't have chocolate gobbled it up! This one's a keeper, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
These are yummy! I didn't have a 9x13, so I used a smaller pan and obviously my crust was plentiful. I followed the recipe to a T, and changed nothing. It was light, and just the right amount of sweetness, but I think personally it might have had a bit too much crust. I chopped my strawberries instead of slicing, and they came out great. Thanks for the recipe, will likely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I haven't tried this recipe because I don't use raw egg whites in a recipe. It sounds good, but, I would be uneasy about serving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
This was very easy. Only thing I did differently was to add some rhubarb which I had cooked down a little first, with the strawberries. Have to use all that is growing in the garden :>D. Very satisfying on a hot summer night! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
My family loved these! They're great for any summer time get together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
This is just like the strawberry fluff my mom made when I was growing up. Delicious and surprisingly easy to make. I didn't put any of the nut mixture on the top.... we just left it on the bottom. And we used pecans instead of walnuts. Great desert no matter which way you make it! :) Oh, I also let the strawberries thaw before I blended it in. That worked out so nice. I didn't have to cut them up beforehand. They blended in really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2dylan&morgan
Home Town: Baraboo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
4.5 stars. This is a very interesting and tasty dessert. I had no problems making it. Followed other people suggestions I sliced strawberries finer. I used confectioners` sugar, so didn`t have a problem with the sugar dissolving and cut the sugar to 1/2 cup, because we didn`t like too sweet things. The crust itself is very tasty and compliments the filling perfectly. The filling is good too. You can my this and keep in a freezer as an ice cream. This dessert is like a great strawberry ice cream torte. Actually we liked the dessert but the reason I say just 4.5 stars is that I am not sure the dessert will become a favorite in my house. We, especially my mom, like, but don`t enjoy frozen desserts (except an ice cream). Althought this recipe would be a great thing for a hot summertime weather (maybe I just chose not a right season and the weather to make it). But I will try this dessert in the summer and will have it in my mind for an appropriate occassion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States