Frosty Strawberry Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2015
Thank you so much to all who left comments - they helped me get this perfect. So I increased the amount of crumb mixture a little; chopped strawberries then mashed them a bit. Saw that liquid was gathering in the bowl so just before I folded the strawberries I drained them. Used a little more whipped cream (by 1/4 cup, plus a little sugar) to lighten the mixture. It is a gorgeous, delicious, concoction. Didn't like that it took so many bowls but it was a hit with everyone. Glad I now know how to make a great crumb mixture. I'll use the leftover crumbs when serving plain ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2015
Fantastic! EVERYONE raved! I make thicker walnut crust following OkinawanPrincess instructions in reviews. Froze in a smaller dish (8 1/2 x 8 1/2) so would have more filling. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2015
I added more fruit. I added blueberries and raspberries. I chopped strawberries. Used whole berries for top instead of crust crumbs because it is ti sweet. Looks red white and blue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2015
I used some of the suggestions I.e. cut sugar in half, mashed 3/4 of the berries with a potato masher, and used an 11x9 in. pan. Family and friends loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2015
Have been making this recipe for at least 35 years. My family always ask for this, spring, summer, fall or winter. I do mash the strawberries well and add 1 1/2 times the crust recipe ingredients.b An old favorite to be sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2015
This was not tasty. The crust was bland and the strawberry taste got lost in the heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koekje

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hasselt, Limburg, Belgium
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
These are fantastic, the only difference I did was chopping the strawberries due to others suggestions and we had no problem slicing them. Once individual serving were out we let them sit for 5-10 minutes so they softened a bit and were much more enjoyable! These are going to become a new summer treat for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
LOVE it!!!!!like homemade ice cream cobbler... Super delicious- it's like a refreshing tangy slightly strawberry thin cobbler. The only few things I would tweak is that it really doesn't make that much filling- I wanted/expected really thick bars- but its more like a thin even layer. Also I think it's not enough strawberries for me. Next time I will add more strawberries or some strawberry nectar. Also -I didn't get the pretty pale pink color others did; which kinda bummed me out. I took a couple other suggestions and diced the berries thin/small, cut down on the lemon juice and I increased the crust by 1/2. I definitely recommend at LEAST a 1/2 increase- since I had difficulty covering it with even that amount- but I also wanted a double crust or sandwich feel. If you just want a bottom and sprinkled top adding the extra 1/2 should work. I also added vanilla to my whipping cream and I really like the added flavor. All in all next time I make it I will double the filling and double the crust and maybe even put in a smaller container. I think the 9 X 13 is not necessary. (but again I want thick filling) have fun with this recipe!!! oh and it's MESSY to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Destiny Cooper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Great recipe but I underestimated the time I needed to make it. Made the mistake of putting "crust" on a (too)small cookie sheet to bake - it took a lot of time and stirring to get it done right. Next time I'll find my biggest baking sheet or divide in two. Still not sure it ended up as intended, but it got a little brown and was crispy so I thought that was correct. You can't "pat" it in pan if you cook as I did (until it's crispy); however, I just dumped it in pan and evened it out and by the time we ate it, the filling had softened the crust up just perfectly. As far as the strawberry filling goes, I did chop the berries up and then I mashed about 2/3 of them into even smaller pieces. The rest I left as chopped & added at end. I also had trouble with the egg whites/lemon mixture beating to stiff peaks with my portable mixer; took me at least 10 minutes. Finally, I took out about half of what I had beaten out of the bowl and added another egg white - that worked better. Then I just kept adding the first egg/lemon back in very slowly until I got soft peaks. Maybe next time I will beat the egg whites for awhile and add the lemon juice slowly towards the end. I did double the crust - good suggestion by someone else. Nice taste; really refreshing and worth the effort. I took it out of freezer about 10 minutes before serving - soft, but kept its shape and cut well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I used to make this & will again for a outdoor dinner party I am throwing in a couple of days. I just wanted to address the lady that she said she wouldn't make it because of the raw egg whites. I was concerned so I did some research. Salmonella only grows in the egg yolk and not the egg white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States