Frosty Strawberry Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
LOVE it!!!!!like homemade ice cream cobbler... Super delicious- it's like a refreshing tangy slightly strawberry thin cobbler. The only few things I would tweak is that it really doesn't make that much filling- I wanted/expected really thick bars- but its more like a thin even layer. Also I think it's not enough strawberries for me. Next time I will add more strawberries or some strawberry nectar. Also -I didn't get the pretty pale pink color others did; which kinda bummed me out. I took a couple other suggestions and diced the berries thin/small, cut down on the lemon juice and I increased the crust by 1/2. I definitely recommend at LEAST a 1/2 increase- since I had difficulty covering it with even that amount- but I also wanted a double crust or sandwich feel. If you just want a bottom and sprinkled top adding the extra 1/2 should work. I also added vanilla to my whipping cream and I really like the added flavor. All in all next time I make it I will double the filling and double the crust and maybe even put in a smaller container. I think the 9 X 13 is not necessary. (but again I want thick filling) have fun with this recipe!!! oh and it's MESSY to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Great recipe but I underestimated the time I needed to make it. Made the mistake of putting "crust" on a (too)small cookie sheet to bake - it took a lot of time and stirring to get it done right. Next time I'll find my biggest baking sheet or divide in two. Still not sure it ended up as intended, but it got a little brown and was crispy so I thought that was correct. You can't "pat" it in pan if you cook as I did (until it's crispy); however, I just dumped it in pan and evened it out and by the time we ate it, the filling had softened the crust up just perfectly. As far as the strawberry filling goes, I did chop the berries up and then I mashed about 2/3 of them into even smaller pieces. The rest I left as chopped & added at end. I also had trouble with the egg whites/lemon mixture beating to stiff peaks with my portable mixer; took me at least 10 minutes. Finally, I took out about half of what I had beaten out of the bowl and added another egg white - that worked better. Then I just kept adding the first egg/lemon back in very slowly until I got soft peaks. Maybe next time I will beat the egg whites for awhile and add the lemon juice slowly towards the end. I did double the crust - good suggestion by someone else. Nice taste; really refreshing and worth the effort. I took it out of freezer about 10 minutes before serving - soft, but kept its shape and cut well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
This recipe looks delicious but I have yet to make it. Based on others reviews I am giving it a 4: -1 for the raw egg whites. Am I the only one concerned about the raw egg whites? I know Salmonella is more often found in yolks, but it can be in the whites too. Any suggestions to get around this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I used to make this & will again for a outdoor dinner party I am throwing in a couple of days. I just wanted to address the lady that she said she wouldn't make it because of the raw egg whites. I was concerned so I did some research. Salmonella only grows in the egg yolk and not the egg white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Even my picky husband, whose greatest compliment on any food is "that was okay" pronounced this dish "delicious." Made exactly as written, using Splenda brown sugar and Truvia white sugar baking mix, and substituting one 8 oz. tub of lite cool whip for the heavy cream. It was a hit at the big family Easter dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
My tastebuds love this delicious dessert! Anything strawberry has always been my favorite, but this recipe made me want to marry these frosty strawberry squares! I will definetly use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I love anything strawberry so this was a WIN! A little cold on sensitive teeth, mash the strawberries well so you're not biting down on a big frozen chunk. So nice on a hot summer day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Since it was my first time with this recipe and I was making it for company, I read all the reviews for advice. I blended the strawberries thoroughly before mixing with the meringue and cream. I also 1 1/2'd the crust, and in my estimation, I could easily have doubled it. These were delicious, and the walnut crust was perfect. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
We loved it- It reminded us of Good Humor's Strawberry Shortcake Bars. (One point- I didn't know from the picture that it needs a plate & fork, I was originally looking for a bar.). I chopped the strawberries up as some suggested, but still felt that the icy strawberries against the sweet whipped topping could have been better. Next time I will mash the strawberries and add a little sweetener to them, and let sit, so that the tart /sweet is lessened..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I originally got this recipe from a lady at a church potluck about 35 years ago. We made it for years and then I lost my last copy of the recipe. I looked here on All-recipes just to see if there was something similar and found the exact recipe I had been using for years! I am so happy to have rediscovered it! I don't know of anyone who's tried it who doesn't just love it! I have given it away for years to people myself! But I use chopped almonds in place of the walnuts. We love it with almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie Hall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States