Frosting Made Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Too sloppy. Tried to add powdered sugar, but it didn't work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I love the ease of making this, I love that it's "normal" ingredients that are always on hand, and I love the taste!! I agree with another who warns not to try it until it's done, but when it's done, wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VWJennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mariemont, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
mine did not turn out good at all, but I had no choice so I had to frost my cake with it. Maybe I didn't beat it long enough (probably mixed it for about 10 minutes) but the sugar didn't dissolve and so it was grainy and very greasy from the shortening I assume. I added a bit of vanilla but that didn't help much. I should just stick with the powdered sugar version I have next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Like some others that have posted, I did not care for this recipe much. It turned out very greasy tasting. I prefer frostings that call for confectioners sugar, I suppose. Thanks for the recipe, it just didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
If I could give this no stars I would. I followed the recipe to a tee and all I got was slop. looked like soup in the bowl. I was very upset that I had wasted my ingredients on this. DO NOT MAKE!! For those that had no problem I'd like to know your secret. Very dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Camden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I used butter instead of margarine and shortening and this frosting tasted sooo good and was wonderfully fluffy. I will be using this recipe for the rest of my life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I attempted this recipe. I added vanilla to aid with flavor. I bear it for a long time and it never fluffed up. It was oily and separated. The taste was overpowered by shortening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This worked great for me. I used the 1 cup of butter in place of the Shortening and the Margarine and it turned out wonderful. I also used some Strawberry flavoring and put it on a chocolate Birthday cake. Everyone was happy with the outcome. I will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I flavoured this with a bit of table syrup and thought it was lovely. My family were convinced it was Cool Whip, and I had to work to convince them otherwise. This made more than enough icing to frost a double layer eight inch cake. Thanks alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I made frosting for the first time ever tonight and I used this recipe. I loved it. I used the suggestion about the full cup of butter. I also added the vanilla and I am really happy with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States