Frosting Made Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Too sloppy. Tried to add powdered sugar, but it didn't work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I love the ease of making this, I love that it's "normal" ingredients that are always on hand, and I love the taste!! I agree with another who warns not to try it until it's done, but when it's done, wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VWJennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mariemont, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
mine did not turn out good at all, but I had no choice so I had to frost my cake with it. Maybe I didn't beat it long enough (probably mixed it for about 10 minutes) but the sugar didn't dissolve and so it was grainy and very greasy from the shortening I assume. I added a bit of vanilla but that didn't help much. I should just stick with the powdered sugar version I have next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Like some others that have posted, I did not care for this recipe much. It turned out very greasy tasting. I prefer frostings that call for confectioners sugar, I suppose. Thanks for the recipe, it just didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
If I could give this no stars I would. I followed the recipe to a tee and all I got was slop. looked like soup in the bowl. I was very upset that I had wasted my ingredients on this. DO NOT MAKE!! For those that had no problem I'd like to know your secret. Very dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Camden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I used butter instead of margarine and shortening and this frosting tasted sooo good and was wonderfully fluffy. I will be using this recipe for the rest of my life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I attempted this recipe. I added vanilla to aid with flavor. I bear it for a long time and it never fluffed up. It was oily and separated. The taste was overpowered by shortening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This worked great for me. I used the 1 cup of butter in place of the Shortening and the Margarine and it turned out wonderful. I also used some Strawberry flavoring and put it on a chocolate Birthday cake. Everyone was happy with the outcome. I will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I flavoured this with a bit of table syrup and thought it was lovely. My family were convinced it was Cool Whip, and I had to work to convince them otherwise. This made more than enough icing to frost a double layer eight inch cake. Thanks alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I made frosting for the first time ever tonight and I used this recipe. I loved it. I used the suggestion about the full cup of butter. I also added the vanilla and I am really happy with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States