Frosting for German Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
This is the second time I made this frosting I could eat it by itself. I used pecans instead of walnuts this time and I like it better (preferance). In one review someone said there was something missing... its probably the cake, it compliments this frosting. I changed nothing to this recipe except I added a tsp of salt. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet2th

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I used pecans instead of walnuts for this, and it turned out even better than expected. I used this for a gift cake for a friend--and he ended up receiving four German chocolate cakes (his favorite) for his birthday! He said the frosting on the one I gave him was hands-down the best, and he still talks about it months later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I dont normally like German Chocolate cake but this frosting made it wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Very good and very easy. Better if you toast the nuts and coconut first. The "extra something" that was missing is a little bit of salt! Brings out the flavors more and it's not so blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
absolutely loved this I would absolutely let it firm up in the refrigerator I had a bit of a hard time icing the cake with it at room temp, so I put the cake in the fridge and for 30 minutes and when I brought it back out the icing on it was a lot more workable!!! This cake only lasted 2 days in my house mmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Very good and very sweet. Don't overindulge on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This was really, really good. But like the other reviewer said, give it time to firm up. I frosted too soon and it was runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Musella-Fling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centereach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ruthee
Reviewed: May 10, 2007
VERY good, i did have a bit of a problem with it not being thick enough though, so i doubled the cornstarch, i also added a bit of vanilla (and didn't use the walnuts, maybe that was why the consistancy was to thin?)....overall? great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Hubby used this recipe to top his german chocolate pie with. He toasted the coconut first & he subbed pecans for walnuts. He said it's better than the recipe he has used in the past...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
I changed a couple things on this recipe--I added 1 tsp more corn starch since several other raters said it was too thin. That made it the perfect consistancy. I also added an additional 1/2 cup coconut, 2 tsps vanilla and I used pecans instead of walnuts. I thought it was very good but agree with Jeanne A that it is missing that something special. It was very good though and I will use it again. Thanks Sierra
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Uruma, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States