Frosted Walnut Brownie Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
So easy, my non-baker boyfriend made these for my birthday... and I've found them to be a super quick recipe to use at work when someone wants brownies (I'm a pastry chef at a restaurant...sometimes the cooks ask for a "snack"). At work we use valrhona cocoa and local butter, which makes them aMaZiNg! I'm not much of a fan of frosting on brownies so I haven't tried that part... frosting isn't necessary when you have a richly delicious and fudgy brownie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Simple, tasty and cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Perfect little dessert for two as well as an ideal recipe for my 6" springform pan which I rarely use. I liked the idea of coating the pan with sugar as I have done that in the past and liked the crunch of it, but in this case it proved to be barely noticeable, so it's not necessary. I didn't like the frosting in the recipe as I wanted something "fudgier" and had intended to use a chocolate ganache. But because the brownie was only about an inch tall and very rich and chocolatey I ended up simply dusting it with powdered sugar - the ganache would have been too much for it. This mixes up so quickly and turns out moist, rich and delicious - big payoff for very little effort. Its only problem as I see it is that it calls for the not so common 6" springform pan. A suggestion might be to simply use a muffin pan, filling about half to 2/3 full, filling any unused cups half full with water and adjusting the baking time accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Delicious! The kind of desert that makes me daydream about treats. Not cake-like to me! They were thick and fudgy. My husband made a chocolate whipped cream and it was the best desert i've made-we agreed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
eh. I really like brownies with a bitch of crunch to them which are also chewy, thick and these were more cake like, which is what the title sort of implies. Not my type of brownie but if you love the cake brownies, these are perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Turned out really well. Substituted coffee liguor for the vanilla, added a little cinnamon and 1 sqare of melted chocolate to the batter. I couldn't fill the deep dish pie crust I had with 7 servings so I did add a raspberry chocolate truffle layer to the top instead of the frosting used here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
Very yummy cake! I made it for a family party and it was gone in 2 seconds. I will defenitly make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
Very tasty...really good texture. I doubled the recipe and baked in it a pie pan. Turned out great! It was a hit at my husband's birthday party. OH, also, I quadrupled the icing recipe to make enough to cover the whole thing. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I made this recipe exactly as it reads. It was a quick, easy, and delicious treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States