Frosted Maple Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by KLEVANG
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
I give this recipe 5 stars, because it has GREAT flavor. HOWEVER - I MADE A CHANGE which also resulted in a wonderful 'full' cookie. Something to keep in mind when baking cookies is that if you use butter, your cookie will spread much more than using shortening. After reading several reviews which commented on the cookie recipe spreading a lot, I decided to replace the 3/4 c butter with 1/4 c butter and 1/2 c butter flavor shortening. This change will give your cookie a flakiness or 'shortbread' texture, yet keep it's shape as it cooks without spreading. I also decided to alter the flour - I used 1/2 regular flour and 1/2 self rising flour. This too helped keep the shape. I also put my dough in the freezer for 2 hours to chill (I was working on rolling out a batch of regular sugar cookies) so that when I placed it on my well floured board, it rolled out perfectly. I always hate to see good reviews for a recipe that has been changed, as it really isn't the same recipe if it has been changed up. . . but this was a great base to work with and with the slight alterations, which didn't affect the flavor whatsoever, it will be a cookie recipe that I will use for years to come. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLEVANG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
These were great once I made a few modifications. The first batch came out about a milimeter thick, so I added a couple tablespoons of flour and about 1/4 teaspon of baking powder to the remaining dough, and the next round plumped up just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I read lots of reviews before making these, but in the end decided to follow the recipe. As written, I would rate this a 3, but with some changes, it is a 4. I made one full batch, and they were indeed flat. That would have been okay - some flat cookie recipes are meant to be just that and taste great. These, on the otherhand, felt very greasy and tasted that way. My husband really wanted maple cookies, and I was tempted to switch recipes, but decided to try this one again with some changes. Reduced the butter to 1/2 cup and increased the flour by 1/4 cup. They didn't come out nearly as flat, had terrific flavor and were softer, a little more cake-like. I made the icing as directed and drizzled it over the cookies. My husband loves these and agrees with the submitter's husband - these remind him of a maple bar - his favorite kind on doughnut. Will probably make this again, but definitely with changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
What a delicious cookie! I used this recipe last year and have been "reminded" that I need to make these again for the holiday season this year! This cookis is tasty without the frosting and VERY tasty with the frosting. Nice subtle maple flavor! *note: only drop 1 tbs. or less of dough per cookie & leave 2" space between each for spreading. Do not add more flour, the dough is suppose to be very sticky.*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
It does not get much better than the taste of these cookies. However, I did have a few problems baking them, it took me a while to get it right -- be sure you make only VERY small balls of dough because these things spread like crazy without any leavening and not much flour. They are very sponge-y and soft and taste great with the frosting. My roommates ate the whole batch the night I baked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
Can you say SUPER-YUMMY?!! For the holidays, I made a wide range of cookies and bars, and I have to say, that these were the first to go! EVERYONE loved these!! I think it's because there aren't too many maple cookies out there, but whatever it is, a HUGE success with everyone! The only thing I recommend is if you're going to stack them on one another, make sure to put a piece of wax paper between them, so you don't get 4 cookies stuck together!! :) Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
Absolutely Fantastic! Everyone who tasted one fell in love with them! This is definitely my only Maple Cookie recipe from now on. By the way, though, I couldn't find Maple extract so I just used generous amounts of Maple syrup. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
These cookies were a huge hit! They were gone in no time and yes, they DO taste exactly like maple bars. Will definitely make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
These cookies were soft and cakelike, yet very thin. They definitely need more maple flavor, so add extra maple extract to both the batter and the frosting. The cookies have a strong brown sugar flavor, so perhaps substituting 1/2 of the brown sugar with white sugar will remedy that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Very good cookie! Yum! I used some of the hints provided in the reviews (more flour, more baking soda and butter flavored Crisco in place of some of the butter) and these cookies turned out beautifully. The icing just puts them over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States