Frosted Maple Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
When I took these out of the oven, I decided that they really weren't the type of cookie that would be improved greatly by frosting, so I ate them plain. They were great! I made the suggested changes of half butter, half shortening, and a teaspoon of baking powder. I used some maple syrup (not exactly sure how much) instead the extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brbs
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Pretty good cookies. They had a really good texture and were really soft. However I kind of felt like they were missing something. I thought they could've used a little more maple extract,but all in all they were good cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Since it was rated so highly, I didn't read the reviews until I removed my 1st round of test cookies from the oven. They had spread all over the pan. I added flour, but not enough. I ended up adding about 1/2 c of flour and the cookies are still flat but at least not quite as greasy. There are far better recipes for maple cookies out there. AVOID THIS RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Fantastic cookies! I increased the flour by 1/4 cup and used 1/2 cup butter and 1/4 cup shortening based on feedback from others. Also used 1/2 tsp baking powder. They were perfect! Nice and chewy, lots of maple flavor. They baked up nicely with just right amount of spreading. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
This cookie was fabulous and absolutely delicious!!! It does lose some flavor in baking and the frosting makes up for that! I loved the taste of the plain ones and so did my kids. That says a lot for a cookie recipe. I will definitely be making again and again! This cookie is now in our dessert rotation of recipes. Thanks so much for sharing xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinghappyhome

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I thought these cookies were yummy! Soft, chewy, and flavorful! They looked really good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
this recipe is disappointing! while i rate allrecipes.com this one completely drops the ball on taste and turn out. hadnt have recipe fail since i was a kid. they have no maple flavour and the recipe is missing something significant. disappointing as they were meant for my daughters international day (Canadian) at nursery. this one needs review all recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Very good cookie! I had maple extract in the pantry, and no clue what to do with it. I took the advice of other reviewers, and used 2.5 cups of sugar, and I had NO trouble with spreading. I found that it did not need but 9 minutes, but I made them relatively small cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
These cookies are pretty good. I didn't use a lot of the maple frosting on them, just because it's so sweet. But, I did take one raters advise and used 1/2 cup butter and increased the flour by 1/4 cup and they did come out more cake like than flat. I'd make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
These are so good! I can not stop eating them. I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out great. They didn't spread to much while baking for me, but I did make pretty small balls. I will be making these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States