Frosted Maple Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
After reading the reviews i was so excited to make these. I followed the recipe to the t. No offense but they were tasteless and fell flat. No matter what i tried, they were almosy paper thin. They were so greasy i had to put paper towel under them and it got soaked. The prep was simple, but the glaze tasted like pure sugar. I was so disappointed :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
big hit at Thanksgiving. I did them as cut outs (maple leaf and turkeys) and refrigerated the dough and then rolled out and frosted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I love this recipe! I've been baking these every fall/holiday season for about 3 years now :) Friends and family go crazy over them! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Very good cookie! Yum! I used some of the hints provided in the reviews (more flour, more baking soda and butter flavored Crisco in place of some of the butter) and these cookies turned out beautifully. The icing just puts them over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
These cookies are yummy and chewy but are rather greasy, and they do spread quite a bit. I used just a tad more flour than the recipe and a little more maple extract. My family thought they were very good, though I got more compliments on the icing than I did the cookie! I would make these again, maybe with less butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I thought these cookies were wonderful! I didn't have any problem at all with them spreading but I did add a tad more flour than called for. I also didn't have any maple extract. I used real maple syrup so they don't taste very "mapley"-the maple taste was very subtle. Next time I'll use maple extract. Cookies are not my forte but these were simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
These were great with the changes of another reviewer. Decreased the butter to 1/2c and increased the flour to 1 3/4c. These will definitely be added to our cookie rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I read lots of reviews before making these, but in the end decided to follow the recipe. As written, I would rate this a 3, but with some changes, it is a 4. I made one full batch, and they were indeed flat. That would have been okay - some flat cookie recipes are meant to be just that and taste great. These, on the otherhand, felt very greasy and tasted that way. My husband really wanted maple cookies, and I was tempted to switch recipes, but decided to try this one again with some changes. Reduced the butter to 1/2 cup and increased the flour by 1/4 cup. They didn't come out nearly as flat, had terrific flavor and were softer, a little more cake-like. I made the icing as directed and drizzled it over the cookies. My husband loves these and agrees with the submitter's husband - these remind him of a maple bar - his favorite kind on doughnut. Will probably make this again, but definitely with changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Great but not good for shaping into maple leaves. They are good w/out frosting. W/frosting they are quite sweet and mapley. A true lover of maple syrup might be able to tell it's maple extract and not actual syrup added to the mix. I'm using this recipe sans frosting for a harvest party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
These were phenomenal! I added 1/4 cup more of flour like other reviewers suggested and the cookies turned out just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States