Frosted Cranberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Beautiful and delicious! I used 1/2 tablespoon water mixed with 1/2 tablespoon corn syrup in place of the egg whites. Also, I used my food processor to make superfine sugar. Just pulse the 1 cup of sugar about 10-15 times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Littlepammie
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
These are awesome! Tart and sweet...yum... I used them to decorate around my pumkin cake II from this site. Beautiful presentation for thanksgiving. Will make again. Thank you! Note: be sure to make them a day ahead as they need time to dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Littlepammie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I must start off saying that I love cranberry anything. So I knew I would love these. So I went out n bought my bag of cranberries and tried one (knowing that they were bitter, but figuring I wouldn't hate them plain). I was wrong! I tried one andwas petrified to take the time to make these!!! But I did anyways and am I glad I did!!! What a difference it makes! They are absolutely delicious!!! The ONLY reason why I did not give them 5 stars is only because of the amount of time they took to make just a small amount. I took the advice of others and dipped them in corn syrup first then the sugar. They are beautiful in a small glass bowl, but they took me about an hour to make a half of a bag! They are so yummy tho and I can't wait to take them to my parents house tomorrow for Thanksgiving!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
These are so good. I made them last night and I keep grabbing a couple to nibble on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Easy to make and yummy to eat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I LOVE Frosting fruits--grapes, etc. are great using this recipe, too. Just a suggestion, if you want to make it a bit more "decadent". I like to replace the water with brandy, cognac, grand marnier, chambord, etc. Make sure it's chilled first, though. It really adds an expensive taste and presentation to frosted fruits--and is especially nice with frosted grapes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celiac_family_mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I have been making these for many years, althought my recipe is different and does not call for an "egg". These little gems are addicting!! 2 cups granulated sugar 2 cups water 2 cups fresh cranberries 3/4 cup superfine sugar. boil 2 cups water and sugar until dissolved and soak cranberries for 24 hours. Drain (can reserve sugar water for later use in drinks, roll in superfine (I use regalar) sugar, let dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
What a burst of flavor! So simple to make and a beautiful presentation. Using lovestohost suggestion, I replaced the egg white with light karo and water, mixing it in a bowl and coating the berries all at once by tossing with a spoon. Then I dropped them one by one into a zip lock bag with sugar, gently shaking the bag as I dropped. I poured them onto a cookie sheet to dry. It only took minutes to prepare. Thank you for sharing such a beautiful treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
HELPFUL HINT** Fine or Berry sugar will work best with coating the berries fully. :-) Great Idea! They are amazingly tasty ! You can use this same idea to coat edible flower's (very pretty on pansies), blueberries, rasberries and blackberries are some of my fav's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I used blueberries instead and they were amazing! They practically melt in your mouth. I used them to top a cake and they looked beautiful as well. To make the prep clean and easy I placed the berries in a large ziplock bag. Then I poured the egg white mixture into the bag and shook everything gently. Then I poured the berries/egg whites into a strainer. Then I put the sugar in another big baggie and added the strained berries. I shook this bag gently and then poured the sugared berries back into the strainer and sifted the extra sugar out before placing the berries on a parchment lined cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Pie Pro

These tips and tricks will make you a pie pro, the envy of family and friends!

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States