Frosted Cranberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Wanting to try this recipe for years I finally have. I wasn't sure how to rate them. For garnishing they were a solid 5+. I put part of the sugar in a foil pie pan and swirled them around and it couldn't have been easier. I removed them with a slotted spoon to a piece of parchment paper. I continued adding more sugar and more cranberries. They were beautiful! When they dried, I promptly popped one in my mouth and thought, oh oh! Although they were sweet & tangy at the same time, I didn't like biting into all the hardened sugar. They just weren't my cup of tea to snack on. I will continue to make and decorate with them, but I prefer not to eat them. I guess it's just me, ha ha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Colleen H
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This is an AWESOME recipe! Just what I needed to decorate my Thanksgiving pies - with extras left over to munch on. The recipe is perfect as is - can't wait for the reviews at dinner tonight. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I loved making these "snow" berries! Beautiful, easy snack you can make the day before. Set out a bowl before dinner, use on your pies for dessert and hopefully there will be some left over for snacking the next day. I recommend letting them sit out overnight to ensure the sugar is dry. After two hours there was still an adequate amount of sugar flaking off the berries, so I covered them with a clean dry towel and let them dry another eight hours. Another tip: make a double batch. You'll eat half before they ever reach a destination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foxie9
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Made this as directed and it turned out great!! You can buy pasteurized Pete & Gerry's egg whites by the eggs in the grocery store. Use a slotted spoon to pull the cranberries out of the egg white and water mixture to keep them from clumping and keep some sugar to the side to sprinkle over top where they may stay bare. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Renita
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
OMG!!! The frosted cranberries made my "Cranberry Lime Splash" cake Picture Perfect. Did I forget to mention SCRUMPTIOUS???? I used meringue powder in place of egg whites and Cranberry Splash soda instead of water. Gotta go eat some now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I used a tablespoon of light corn syrup. Worked great! YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLYSMAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I substituted powdered sugar which formed a nice crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
These were so easy to make & looked absolutely beautiful on top of the pumpkin/coconut/pecan cake with cream cheese icing. My 3-year-olds actually ate them by themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My3Boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I found this recipe when I was looking for something to take to a white elephant Christmas party! Easy, and adorable! I even won a prize for bringing it! This is my "go to" recipe for all Christmas potluck gatherings!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COD3ELF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gila Bend, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Since I found this recipe a few years ago, I have made them every year for Thanksgiving and Christmas. All my friends are hooked on them too. I found that a little bit of unflavored gelatin mixed with water works very well in place of the eggs or corn syrup. I put a small amount of sugar in a pie plate and roll a few cranberries around, then dump them onto a large waxed-paper lined cookie sheet to dry. Once they are all rolled, I use a sifter and sprinkle the tops with a little more sugar. The leftover used sugar can be sifted and used to fluff the bottom of a glass bowl/jar for displaying the cranberries. Also, try sugared mint leaves to tuck into the cranberry display.Very festive and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Weaselsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Pie Pro

These tips and tricks will make you a pie pro, the envy of family and friends!

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States