Frosted Cranberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Renita
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
OMG!!! The frosted cranberries made my "Cranberry Lime Splash" cake Picture Perfect. Did I forget to mention SCRUMPTIOUS???? I used meringue powder in place of egg whites and Cranberry Splash soda instead of water. Gotta go eat some now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I used a tablespoon of light corn syrup. Worked great! YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLYSMAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I substituted powdered sugar which formed a nice crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
These were so easy to make & looked absolutely beautiful on top of the pumpkin/coconut/pecan cake with cream cheese icing. My 3-year-olds actually ate them by themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My3Boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I found this recipe when I was looking for something to take to a white elephant Christmas party! Easy, and adorable! I even won a prize for bringing it! This is my "go to" recipe for all Christmas potluck gatherings!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COD3ELF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Since I found this recipe a few years ago, I have made them every year for Thanksgiving and Christmas. All my friends are hooked on them too. I found that a little bit of unflavored gelatin mixed with water works very well in place of the eggs or corn syrup. I put a small amount of sugar in a pie plate and roll a few cranberries around, then dump them onto a large waxed-paper lined cookie sheet to dry. Once they are all rolled, I use a sifter and sprinkle the tops with a little more sugar. The leftover used sugar can be sifted and used to fluff the bottom of a glass bowl/jar for displaying the cranberries. Also, try sugared mint leaves to tuck into the cranberry display.Very festive and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Weaselsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
At first I did not really love them, but then they kind of grew on me and were really good. Even the kids loved them. I did not find them hard to roll at all. I used 1 T Karo and 1 T water. They reminded me of those sour sweet candies the kids eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This technique also works on other fruits like grapes. Beautiful results. Don't be afraid of the egg whites. If you handle your food properly and use pasteurized egg whites, you shouldn't have any problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by for the love of CHOCOLAT...

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I LOVED these. Such a great idea. I have some tips. The egg whites were essential to use as glue. It firmly cements the sugar on and crystallizes the whole thing. I don't think corn syrup would have produced as good results. I used EGG WHITE POWDER dissolved in water. No salmonella to worry about. Then I found that the sugar gets ruined quickly because the excess binder (egg whites) gunk it up and it's unusable for the intended purpose. So that's what I only used a small amount of sugar at a time in a shallow bowl. I found that dropping the egg white drenched cranberries from high into the sugar cut back on uneven globs of sugar becoming attached. Then I rolled it around and I used them to garnish cranberry cocktails, cranberry mousse, and to put out at dessert just as they are. They're addictive to snack on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaptMicha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brookeville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
lets just say I can't stop eating them,I'm taking them to my sister's for Thanksgiving if they make it there.they turned out great and I went right by the recipe..love them and I will make them for Christmas.Thank you so much for the great treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delray Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Chef John’s Peach Blackberry Flognarde

A fruity baked dessert with a funny name and a secret savory surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States