Frosted Cereal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MagicallyDelicious
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I only had a 10 ounce bag of marshmallows, so I had to scale the recipe down. I made it 12 servings and everything worked out great. Delicious - they're a little more substantial than regular Krispie treats, and the peanut butter adds to these in a good way. I melted chocolate and peanut butter chips and used a fork to make a design on top rather than mixing them together. I think they're prettier this way, and will make a great treat for work tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I made these to take to work and they were a huge hit, not a single one left on the plate! They turned out perfectly! The only thing I did differently was substitute 1 cup of the butterscotch chips with 1 cup of peanut butter chips to help cut back on the sweetness. Even with this small change, they are still very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slrobb77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Great recipe for a different twist on the ordinary Rice Krispy Treats! Again I am testing recipes for our annual Breast Cancer bake sale going on for the month of October. The recipes I find on here are usually winners and reading what comments everyone posts on here are very helpful as I just tossed the chocolate chips on put the oven on to broil for about a minute or two then spread it gave it a nice looking topping instead of just plain one color brown, next time I might add in some white chocolate chips! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mskinue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jho2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
These were very very good. The peanut butter and sugar made these too sweet for us, though. I made these to bring to a Halloween party and added Halloween sprinkles on top. Everyone raved about them. I will reduce the sugar if I make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Wow!! This was DELICIOUS!! I cut the recipe in half and made in an 11x7 pan (and had a little extra that I squashed into a bowl). I also used 1.5 cups butterscotch chips and .5 cups chocolate chips, rather than half of each since I was looking to use up my butterscotch chips. I also used giant marshmallows and only had 6 oz (called for 8 oz of minis). These turned out AMAZING! This recipe is a keeper - best rice krispie treats ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
My daughter's favorite! She's already asked if I'll make them for her class which started yesterday! I always try to use up cereals that aren't getting eaten like cheerios or chex or other less sugary ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KANDYKAIN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I had these bars at a party,loved them. Tried to find the recipe, found it here! Great recipe!!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
My mother was not interested in cooking but this is one recipe I remember her making and we all loved it. She put the bars in a deeper dish with the "frosting" between the layers. Less messy for lunch boxes or little hands! I brought them as a treat for everyone where I work and everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
These bars were amazing!!! The one thing I did differently was substituted the 2 cups of butterscotch chips with 2 cups of Reeses Peanut Butter chips. I LOVE peanut butter! I spread all the chips out on top of the pan and put the pan in a warm oven till they got shiney. Then just spread it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States