Frosted Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
I really like these! I made a few changes, though. I remembered reading somewhere that you can cut almost half of the sugar out of any recipe without affecting the end product. So I cut the sugar down to 1 cup. I also used fat-free plain yogurt instead of the sour cream. I don't have a 10x15 pan so I used a 9x13 and cooked it for 30 min. I got a nice, moist cake-like bar. I also frosted it with a Chocolate Peanut Butter frosting made of 2C powdered sugar, 2T cocoa, 4T milk, 2T peanut butter, and 1/2t vanilla. I really enjoyed these for a way to use up ripe bananas besides the standard banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
283 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
I have never made these bars without someone asking for the recipe. Just use 2-3 lg. very ripened bananas and you will have plenty of flavor. Please don't put store bought frosting on them. There is a recipe on this site for Whipped Cream Cream Cheese frosting that is a superb complement to these bars. ENJOY! Bring copies with you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
244 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
My only complaint is that I can't give this recipe 6 stars! These are wun-der-ful! It's so great making a 'bar' recipe the comes out of the pan perfectly and makes a great presentation. I served them chilled because my sister has a similar recipe and for some reason it really brings out the banana flavor. I only used two really dark bananas but you could really taste the flavor; I added some cinnamon, too. For such a simple recipe it really does make a ton - an entire jelly roll pan... WOW! I made a softer frosting of one block cream cheese, 2 cups of powdered sugar, tsp vanilla and some milk to thin it out ever so slightly. Stop searching for recipes... turn off your computer & go make these. They are really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
I made this as a bundt cake just because I got mixed up with another recipe I was considering. I cooked it for 40 at 375. It was light, moist and delicious. Not too sweet either. For the record, a cup of bananas is equal to about 2 good sized bananas mashed up. And if they seem not ripe enough, break them up and nuke it for about 12 seconds on high until you can easily mash them up with a fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
These are very, very good. Like some others, I used a 9 x 13 inch pan and extended the baking time. I just kept checking them every 10 minutes or so until the toothpick came out clean. I also added one chopped banana to the finished batter for a little more texture. The frosting is to die for and it makes a lot! (I used the frosting that Tricia Jaeger suggesteds in her review). A great recipe! Everyone loved these cake like bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Getzville, New York, USA
Living In: Williamsville, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
I made these and they were very good! I used 3 large bananas (probably was more then the 1 cup called for in the recipe), substituted 1 cup of cake flour for part of the all-purpose, and cut down on the sugar by 1/4 cup. If you refrigerate the bars after you frost them until the icing is firm, you can then cut them into individual servings and store in the freezer between wax paper sheets. They freeze beautifully and are great to have on hand for a quick dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
This recipe was GREAT!! I loved it so much. Instead of sour cream, I used vanilla yogurt and it tasted wonderful. I also added walnuts into the batter. The cake was also moist and really tasted like bananas!! I used only about 5 oz worth of cream cheese frosting made by myself. I also used over ripe bananas (REALLY GOOD). If you are bringing this dish to a fancy party or for some big event like a birthday, jazz it up like I did. I dyed the frosting a very pale yellow and I put dark chocolate shavings ontop, in fact it even looked like a BANANA!! Thanx again! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
Scrumptious! I used three bananas (about 1 1/4 C. bananas) and added about 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, then frosted with homemade cream cheese icing and topped it off with walnuts. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
These were great! I, as many others stated, made my own frosting as I already had the ingredients on hand. I used 4 oz. cream cheese, 1/2 C butter, 1 t vanilla and 3 1/2 C powdered sugar. Update: tried these as a cupcake and it worked beautifully, a half recipe yields 12 cupcakes. This time I used recipe Cream Cheese Frosting II.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
I made these for a picnic and everyone enjoyed them. I didn't frost, I just sprinkled the top with peanut butter chocolate chips as soon as they came out of the oven. Easy to carry to your destination and I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 681) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States