Frosted Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Oh my goodness, was this ever delicious! Other than cutting the sugar back to 1 rounded cup and adding a bit more banana, I made it as directed. Followed the suggestions of serving it cold and it was unbelievable how good it was. I made my own peanut butter frosting, because I don't care for the taste of canned frostings. So good and so easy!! I'll be making this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
These are sooooo addicting! These did not last long in our house, I had them in the morning with coffee, and that night for dessert. Make a homemade cream cheese frosting - don't use a store bought one! I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smach

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Really terrific bars, made recipe as written but without frosting, weighed ingredients for accuracy, used a 10x15 jellyroll pan, no bad comments from a class of 7th graders or their teachers, kids who said they didn't like banana bread were converted. Did not feel the frosting was necessary and I am not sure we would have liked them frosted. They are plenty dense and rich on their own, why gild the lily? But if you do like a very very sweet heavy bar, agree with others that homemade cream cheese frosting is a must -- grocery store icing always has an aftertaste and it's not hard to make the icing from scratch. Plenty of good icing recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by printemps98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Great flavor. Super easy to make. Absolutely LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I had two small, over ripe bananas to use up, so I halved the recipe and baked them in a 8" x 10-1/2" pan (I know, that's a weird size pan, but it has a cover, and it worked great). Baked for 28 minutes. I topped these with Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting (also from this site), and a few chopped walnuts. Very tasty, and the kids loved it with a side of fresh strawberries for dessert! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Delicious. I have made these for various family get togethers and everyone raves about them. They are gone in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Wonderful recipe - my new go to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
used 1/2 wheat flour. Kids loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I just made these and used apple sauce (no butter) Splenda (no sugar) Fat free sour cream and no frosting used free cool whip now they are diet friendly and okay for diabetics and they are good. Do not rise as much next time I will use smaller pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
These are fantastic! I have found my favorite dessert of all time. I can not believe how good these are. What a wonderful recipe to use up some bananas. I made a homemade cream cheese frosting instead of that old can stuff. The other thing I changed was I used half whole wheat flour and have white flour. Nothing else was changed. Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri's Best Recipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philadelphia, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Spring Hope, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 694) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States