Frosted Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2015
Just pulled it out of the oven and the whole house smells wonderful. I make exactly as stated with a cream cheese frosting. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
Make cream cheese frosting with these, they are great! I always use four mashed bananas and put this in a large jelly roll pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommaof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Wowza! I'm not really a cake fan, but these were a winner at our house! I cut the recipe in half and used an 8x8. I used Greek yogurt, not sour cream, and made my own cream cheese frosting. Move over, banana quick bread, there's a new 'naner in town!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Very dense and tasty! I made them in a 9x13 pan and added a cup of mini chocolate chips. Used commercial frosting - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by littleChef
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
I followed recipe EXACTLY as written and it was PERFECT!! Family raved about them and said they're better than banana nut bread. Will make again. For the icing part I made homemade buttercream from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
The bars were edible but just didn't taste good. I made them per the recipe and used cream cheese frosting but they weren't to anyone's liking. I think brown instead of white sugar along with some cinnamon might make this better. Using a semi-sweet and fluffy chocolate frosting would probably have worked better than the cream cheese. Lastly the cook time is too short, I needed another 8-10 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Awesome!! Took them to work and was asked to copy the recipe for everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I also used a 9x13 and ended up cooking it 7 minutes longer than stated above. I also only used a cup of sugar instead of a cup and a half, but those two things aside I followed the recipe as stated and it. was. WONDERFUL. (and baking is NOT my forte!) Will definitely keep this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee Wheeler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I made this recipe but used "Jules" gluten free flour instead of regular flour because my daughter has celiac...it was sooooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Canaan, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Holy moly are these things awesome good! I did modify a little, but the things I did were not recipe integrity deal breakers. First, I made half a recipe - just wanted a "modest" pan for the two of us. What pan to use, tho,' when you're halving a 15x10" pan? I didn't follow any scientific formula to figure it out - I just figured an 11x7" or 9x9" (which I used) would work out just fine - and it did. As for the batter itself, I wanted to use buttermilk I had on hand rather than sour cream, and I knew I would have to make a slight adjustment. For each cup of sour cream, I found, use 14 T. buttermilk and 3 T. butter. So for my half recipe I needed 7 T. of buttermilk (I measured out 1/2 c. then removed a tablespoon) and an additional 1-1/2 T. of butter. I used slightly more bananas - 3/4 c. for the half recipe. I also used a tried and true mixing technique I was more comfortable with - cream the sugar and butter well, add the egg(s) and vanilla, and finally the bananas. Add the flour mixture alternately in thirds with the sour cream (buttermilk), beginning and ending with the flour. I knew bars this good deserved a homemade cream cheese frosting: 1/2 c. butter, 8 oz. pkg. cream cheese, 1 tsp. vanilla, 4 c. powdered sugar (I made half this recipe) These are moist and cake-like, but be sure not to over bake if you want them this way! I found 17-18 minutes perfect for my sized pan. Pleasantly sweet and full of banana flavor; a delicious home-spun dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 696) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States