Frosted Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I made this recipe but used "Jules" gluten free flour instead of regular flour because my daughter has celiac...it was sooooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Canaan, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Holy moly are these things awesome good! I did modify a little, but the things I did were not recipe integrity deal breakers. First, I made half a recipe - just wanted a "modest" pan for the two of us. What pan to use, tho,' when you're halving a 15x10" pan? I didn't follow any scientific formula to figure it out - I just figured an 11x7" or 9x9" (which I used) would work out just fine - and it did. As for the batter itself, I wanted to use buttermilk I had on hand rather than sour cream, and I knew I would have to make a slight adjustment. For each cup of sour cream, I found, use 14 T. buttermilk and 3 T. butter. So for my half recipe I needed 7 T. of buttermilk (I measured out 1/2 c. then removed a tablespoon) and an additional 1-1/2 T. of butter. I used slightly more bananas - 3/4 c. for the half recipe. I also used a tried and true mixing technique I was more comfortable with - cream the sugar and butter well, add the egg(s) and vanilla, and finally the bananas. Add the flour mixture alternately in thirds with the sour cream (buttermilk), beginning and ending with the flour. I knew bars this good deserved a homemade cream cheese frosting: 1/2 c. butter, 8 oz. pkg. cream cheese, 1 tsp. vanilla, 4 c. powdered sugar (I made half this recipe) These are moist and cake-like, but be sure not to over bake if you want them this way! I found 17-18 minutes perfect for my sized pan. Pleasantly sweet and full of banana flavor; a delicious home-spun dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
THIS RECIPE WAS ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!! I doubled it to make a pan to take to work and a pan for my boyfriend to take to work. It turned out more like a cake, but it was still yummy...and really moist!! SUPER HUGE HIT at my work and my boyfriend's work!! All The girls at work asked for the recipe, some took some home to their hubbys, and what was left I shoved into my mouth!!! LOVED it and will definitely make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I just made these. I made homemade cream cheese frosting. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Box

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
used half the sugar and made mini loaves..delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karole Lazo Soto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Used half cup of sugar and half Splenda, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Excellent flavor & texture. I used 3 bananas lightly mashed leaving small banana chunks - great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Very tasty. Used 1 cup mashed banana as the recipe called for (2 bananas), but a third probably wouldn't have hurt. Made the vanilla cream cheese frosting from the McCormick red velvet cupcake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
These bars were SO moist! Followed the advice from other reviews, and cut the sugar in half as the bananas were plenty sweet. Paired with the Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting from this site, and it was wonderful. I find they are best served chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
These are delicious and soooo easy to make. Very moist. I bake on a large cookie sheet for a thinner bar, and do a browned butter frosting over mine, since I have some who don't like the cream cheese flavor. Kids gobble them up every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 689) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States