Frost on the Pumpkin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2000
This is an excellent recipe, so nice and light
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
I made this for a dinner party and everyone cleaned their plates. It is really light - great if you like the taste of pumpkin but not the heavy custard texture of traditional pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
This is without a doubt the best pumpkin pie I have ever made-and I have tried just about all of them after over thirty years of baking!! It is not the quickest to do-but is worth the extra half an hour or so in extra time-and is easily done in a few stages. My family says it is 'authentic pumpkin pie taste without the heaviness.' Absolutely try this-if you want certain success with everyone who tastes it. Incredibly impressive and very different from the 'run-of-the-mill' off the-back-of-the-can pumpkin pie recipe! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
Really good flavor and texture, but my family and I still prefer the original. This is a perfect recipe for people who don't want the same 'ol, same 'ol. I guess we're just old fashioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIK_IT2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
Good, but LOTS of Work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary A. Milan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2004
This pie has been a tradition with our family for Thanksgiving for the past 40 years. It's the greatest pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
This is pretty good, but it isn't really anything like a pumpkin pie. It has the flavor of one, but the texture is completely different. It's layered and really light and fluffy. If you're looking for a traditional pumpkin pie recipe, this isn't it... but it is very good for what it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
I really liked the light quality of the pie but found the final result a little too gooey and unformed. It's possible that I didn't do one of the steps right, for instance beat the yolks long enough or cook long enough until thickened. I think next time I will skip folding the egg whites into the pumpkin mixture in order to make the texture a little more solid and easy to cut. I also used a graham cracker crust which went well with the other flavors. Overall a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I read the reviews saying that this cake woud get great reviews from guests and decided that I should try it. It did not let me down. Everyone loved it. Thank you for this recipe that got me so much credit with the in-laws.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Thanks for the recipe, I really liked this pie! The whipped cream mixture alone was to die for. I doubled the recipe, using 2 9" Pet Ritz deep dish pie crusts, and I still have enough of the pumpkin mixture for at least 1, probably 2 more pies?! (Bought 2 small cartons of whipping cream, only needed 1, so it works out!) I really like that there was so much pumpkin in the pie. So many recipes call for only small amounts of pumpkin. It really held its own with the other flavors (e.g. nutmeg & allspice), although overall the whipped cream overwhelmed the pie a bit. I don't know that less whipped cream would be enough to thoroughly cover the layers of pumpkin mixture, but if I make this again I might try it with less confectioners' sugar, and maybe a little more white sugar in the pumpkin mixture? I would love suggestions! I went into this expecting it to require a decent amount of effort and still feel compelled to strongly recommend you make this only if you have a slow day at home where you can plan to spend a good deal of it on the recipe, and the cleanup, and washing bowls/utensils between steps depending on how much equipment you have in your kitchen! Several steps required a mixer so at the very least you will have to wash the beaters, etc. between steps. Too bad you can't prep much of anything or keep it for long, but it was as reviewed, a "light" alternative to traditional pie and a great flavor, very nice to bring to a party if you can keep very cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States