Frost-Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I've made these for years, and yes, it is a Sun-Maid Raisin recipe that I pulled from an ad many years ago. I add a lot of orange zest! I also use a double boiler to melt the white chocolate after having inconsistent and often heart-breaking and frustrating results with melting the white chocolate in the microwave oven. With the double boiler, I can stir and monitor it more, and I leave the water simmering when I take the top pot off and dip the cookies. Then if the chocolate gets too stiff, I just put it back on the boiling water for a few seconds and stir. Be careful not to get ANY water or moisture in the chocolate!! It will SEIZE UP and be totally unusable. (Ask me how I know...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freeland, Maryland, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I have used this recipe for a few years now and I love it. I substitute dried cranberries for the raisins and mix in white chocolate chips rather than dipping them. It saves on work and I can use far less chocolate chips as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
The cookies themselves were great. I only dipped half of them in whire chocolate and the dipped ones were not as good. The white chocolate completley masks and hides the taste of the cookies. IOf you make these i suggest skipping the white chocolate!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elbie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by danube66
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Good recipe. I added a teaspoon of orange extract, and it still didn't taste too orange-y. Also, i added a bag of dark choc chips instead of dipping the cookies in white chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danube66

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Budapest, Pest, Hungary
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This is a Sunmaid Raisins recipe. I've been making it for years. I have found that adding 1/4c flour helps keep them from spreading out and getting too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty D Heyden

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
These were great! For some reason I had an extremely difficult time melting the white chocolate to a good texture, but so it goes... they still tasted great. I substituted with half wheat flour, and used canola oil in place of the shortening. I also added a considerable amount of cinnamon and nutmeg -- added great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
this taste great..even without the white dip! They do spread out quite a bit when cooking..so do space them as stated..and make sure you put them in the center rack..because they thin out the bottom can cook to quickly..if they are not on the center rack. Great cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
Delicious--like an orange dreamsicle. These are in my permanent recipe box. I forgot to soak the raisins overnight, so I only soaked them for a couple hours and it turned out fine. I used organic oranges for the zest, less chemicals in their skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
I am so grateful to find this recipie I made them last year and they were a big hit - however I could not find the recipie to repeat the cookie. The only difference was I used orange peal - but orange zest sounds so much easier than pealing an orange. They are a bit time consuming but well worth the effort. Also I started making the second batch before the first was dipped so I had a bit of a mess going but that is par for my baking -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
These are really great!! I made them for an afternoon tea and everyone loved them!! They were the first thing to disappear. I'll definately be making them again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States