Frogmore Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
No matter the title, I call it delicious. As written, the cook time for the taters is too long (at least for my liking) and I like to add a halved onion or two to sweeten the pot. Oh, and a few glugs of beer don't hurt either (for the cook or the shrimp...). Fun recipe and a great way to feed a hungry crew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I've lived in SC for over 20 years and I can tell you this is Beaufort stew!! We call it Frogmore stew when there's crab - no crab, Beaufort stew; crab, Frogmore stew :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Really great! Added 1t crushed red pepper and wasn't too spicy. Will probably add a few garlic cloves next time...maybe andouille sausage...maybe onions...maybe mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I loved it! I had two helpings, which I rarely do. I served a side of traditional homemade coleslaw and crackers. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vawork

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Great dinner that was really fun. It was just like a crawfish boil but way easier to eat and more filling/satisfying to be peeling shrimp instead of crawfish. We did follow someone's advice to cook corn seperately and started it when we did potatoes, so the corn came out really nice and spicy! Definitely will be doing this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I used Tony Chachere's (forgive the spelling, I'm too lazy to check it right now). The corn kicked our butts. No kidding. Everything else was perfect, the corn however allmost killed all of us but a random few who claimed they didn't notice because they liked hot stuff. Next time I'll cook corn separately and then throw in at the last second.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
LOve me some frogmore stew . Some also cal this a low country boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ashley
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
this is awesome! the whole family loved it even my 3 yr old :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Highland Home, Alabama, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
The first time my husband and I have ever tried anything like this. Loved it- fun and new. I am sure my baby will love it when he is older- what kid doesn't like finger food?? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Ordway, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 377) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States