Frogmore Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Tried this recipe last week for my famlly and they loved it!!! The only problem im going to have is trying to find corn on the cob in winter in Ontario!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
The best things in life are the simple ones and this is simply delicious. Really, it's hard to mess this up. I like to brown my sausage in the pot just a bit first to render out the fat (don't pour the fat out). Like somebody else mentioned it is tasty to cut up a lemon in it and toss in a couple of bay leaves but if you don't have them make it exactly like the recipe says, it's great. I scale it down to feed the three of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B. Bailey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I had this in SC and it was delicious. My friend just made it for a party but didn't add any seasoning, plain kielbasa (not hot) and no hot pepper. Very bland. I will try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Great recipe! Delicious! As some others have said, adding beer while it is cooking improves the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Made this for some family...everyone enjoyed it...it makes a LOT! It's so hearty and filling but so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Pretty good basic recipe. Everyone complimented and went back for seconds. Not sure there's too much more you can do with a "shrimp boil" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I scaled this recipe down to 10 and it made enough for 4 adults with leftovers for about 2 more servings. Gauge your cooking time for the potatoes depending on their size. Mine were tiny, so I only boiled them 5 min. before going to the next step and they were perfect. 5 minutes is a long time to boil shrimp. Stir the shrimp into pot, remove the pot from the heat, cover, and the shrimp will be cooked in around 3 minutes, depending on their size. As soon as the shrimp turn pink and have a slight "c" shape, they're done. Everyone enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
No matter the title, I call it delicious. As written, the cook time for the taters is too long (at least for my liking) and I like to add a halved onion or two to sweeten the pot. Oh, and a few glugs of beer don't hurt either (for the cook or the shrimp...). Fun recipe and a great way to feed a hungry crew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I've lived in SC for over 20 years and I can tell you this is Beaufort stew!! We call it Frogmore stew when there's crab - no crab, Beaufort stew; crab, Frogmore stew :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Really great! Added 1t crushed red pepper and wasn't too spicy. Will probably add a few garlic cloves next time...maybe andouille sausage...maybe onions...maybe mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States