Frogmore Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
The kids always love this one! I start with the potatoes and corn, then add the sausage for 5 minutes. I turn off the stove, add the shrimp for a few minutes as they cook pretty quickly. I serve it in bowl, crusty sourdough bread and old bay, sour cream and cocktail sauce on the side. Use the bread to soak up the broth - so good! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hs in so cal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I've been making this for yrs. I lay out a ton of newspaper on table & just pour it all down middle of the table. Use your hands to eat! Or place toothpicks out for ppl. Along with some spray butter, salt & pepper. People are always impressed with presentation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raven

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This recipe is the perfect camping recipe; even when we do it at home, my kids love it. Throwing it all out on the table is just kind of an added bonus. They love all the food included, they're totally okay with the spicy version, and I'm totally okay with the ease of it. Where we live, shrimp is not the cheapest thing but other than planning budgetwise, I make this whenever I can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
We really enjoyed this. I scaled it down to four servings and added some crab legs and it was amazing and in fact, we each ate two servings. Added some beer and some bay leaves as suggested, otherwise made exactly as directed and served with butter for dipping. I also served with some wonderful crusty bread and we completely forgot about the bread until we were already stuffed to the gills--it is unnecessary! Thanks for the great and unique (to the Pac NW at least) recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I had never heard of this until I moved to Charleston and a friend in Moncks Corner made it for me during a summer cookout. I would prefer more seasoning, but it's the easiest most unique yummy meals I have ever eaten! It is most certainly a dish that I am going to carry with us when my husband and I move on to our next base and share it with new friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Made this just like it said and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
We all LOVE this! Made it for my neice's rehearsal dinner/picnic and it was a big hit. The seafood and sausage will disappear long before the potatoes and corn when other side dishes are offered, so if there are a few other potato/pasta/veggie offerings it would be best to cut the potatoes and corn by 1/3 to 1/2 to avoid lots of leftovers. Also, this allows more space for some crab legs, which make a deicious addition. Note to self: use smoked beef sausage and replace part of the water with 2 beers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
So easy to make! All you need is a large pot! The potatoes were every so slightly over cooked for my taste but I ate them anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Quite nice but I need to make a fair bit of changes next time as flavour wasn't all that great....no doubt me rather than recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arnold, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Never disappoints!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 379) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States