Frogmore Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Pedigo Skaggs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hubbard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
This was a huge hit, everybody loved it. I did two batches so I could use less spice in one of them for the diners who are sensitive to spice. Both of them turned out delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Oh. My. Goodness. I never rate recipes but feel I have to on this one. Amazing! I added a little more water, the recommended bottle of beer, and I used 2 lbs of peeled, uncooked shrimp because that's what was in the bag. When adding the shrimp, I just stirred them in until they were pink - 2 min at most. Everyone loved it and I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
This is a fantastic end of summer recipe for when the corn really starts pouring in. It creates drama and fun when you serve it caveman style on newspaper, although I used inside out grocery store paper bags to avoid newsprint. I served this at my Labor Day party and although we were all adults, be assured the serving style would be loved by kids. I prepared the recipe as described, plus one tip from another...I added a generous tablespoon of Red Pepper Flakes and I took the pot off the heat when I added the shrimp to avoid overcooking. My shrimp were frozen and they were cooked in 2/3 minutes all the same. My tips: We boiled the water using the "rocket launch pad" which is a the propane burner that we use for frying a turkey. USE OUTSIDE AWAY from house, most important thing to know if you are a first timer. Pay close attention to the timing for each item. DO NOT CUT the potatoes in half. I cut half of the taters in half and they turned to mush but the whole ones were perfect at the time indicated. If you do cut them in half, put them in later. Cutting the corn in fourths is worth it, the pieces are manageable and match the size of the other ingredients. Smoked sausage..was yummy but I have also made this dish with kielbasa. The sausage/kielbasa tends to be very popular, so I would cut 1" pieces instead of 2" or throw in an extra rope. And before you bring out the butter, cocktail sauce or whatever, TASTE IT FIRST...it's unbelievable -the Old Bay is enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Excellent! Never tried mAking anything like this before and it was awesome! Only thing i would do different is drizzle a little garlic butter over it right before we dig in like another reviewer suggested. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Can't go wrong with anything you do.. just don't overcook the shrimp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I used this recipe to celebrate my brother-in-laws retirement at a beach house rental with the family. Sausage, shrimp, potatoes and corn were on Dave's most liked food list. This recipe not only satisfied his preference for our celebratory dinner but allowed me a simple one pot easy to serve dish. It was better than Great! Fun with food at the table (even Sammy our 2 1/2 yr old liked it) now a summer staple. Added a bottle of beer and a quartered onion cause neither ever hurts. Took others advice and added shrimp once off the heat. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catonsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I have been making this recipe for 25 years. I don't usually add potatoes and I use Seafarers crab and shrimp boil - 2 bottles - to add a little kick. My husband and father-in-law adore it. I serve it with lots of crusty bread and iced tea (or beer).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
This was so yum and actually really easy! I put the corn in five minutes before the sausage as suggested by a previous reviewer and at the end (after draining) put a large pat of butter, minced garlic in and sprinkled some old bay on top. I would like to know how to get some of the sauce to saturate better. Maybe don't drain as much? We will be doing this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Querido

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Made it tonight and it was a big hit, will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States