Frogmore Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
This is a fantastic end of summer recipe for when the corn really starts pouring in. It creates drama and fun when you serve it caveman style on newspaper, although I used inside out grocery store paper bags to avoid newsprint. I served this at my Labor Day party and although we were all adults, be assured the serving style would be loved by kids. I prepared the recipe as described, plus one tip from another...I added a generous tablespoon of Red Pepper Flakes and I took the pot off the heat when I added the shrimp to avoid overcooking. My shrimp were frozen and they were cooked in 2/3 minutes all the same. My tips: We boiled the water using the "rocket launch pad" which is a the propane burner that we use for frying a turkey. USE OUTSIDE AWAY from house, most important thing to know if you are a first timer. Pay close attention to the timing for each item. DO NOT CUT the potatoes in half. I cut half of the taters in half and they turned to mush but the whole ones were perfect at the time indicated. If you do cut them in half, put them in later. Cutting the corn in fourths is worth it, the pieces are manageable and match the size of the other ingredients. Smoked sausage..was yummy but I have also made this dish with kielbasa. The sausage/kielbasa tends to be very popular, so I would cut 1" pieces instead of 2" or throw in an extra rope. And before you bring out the butter, cocktail sauce or whatever, TASTE IT FIRST...it's unbelievable -the Old Bay is enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Excellent! Never tried mAking anything like this before and it was awesome! Only thing i would do different is drizzle a little garlic butter over it right before we dig in like another reviewer suggested. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Can't go wrong with anything you do.. just don't overcook the shrimp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I used this recipe to celebrate my brother-in-laws retirement at a beach house rental with the family. Sausage, shrimp, potatoes and corn were on Dave's most liked food list. This recipe not only satisfied his preference for our celebratory dinner but allowed me a simple one pot easy to serve dish. It was better than Great! Fun with food at the table (even Sammy our 2 1/2 yr old liked it) now a summer staple. Added a bottle of beer and a quartered onion cause neither ever hurts. Took others advice and added shrimp once off the heat. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catonsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I have been making this recipe for 25 years. I don't usually add potatoes and I use Seafarers crab and shrimp boil - 2 bottles - to add a little kick. My husband and father-in-law adore it. I serve it with lots of crusty bread and iced tea (or beer).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
This was so yum and actually really easy! I put the corn in five minutes before the sausage as suggested by a previous reviewer and at the end (after draining) put a large pat of butter, minced garlic in and sprinkled some old bay on top. I would like to know how to get some of the sauce to saturate better. Maybe don't drain as much? We will be doing this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Made it tonight and it was a big hit, will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
The food turned out fine. I mean it was all cooked when I went to eat it. It was bland add everything tasted of corn. :( I'm not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Yep, this is pretty much what you get in the restaurants, except most of them add some snow crab legs. Not sure where they're getting them, haven't seen snow crabs in the wild down here, yet. Ate until we were full, and still had trouble stopping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Soooo delicious, quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbury, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 377) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States