Frogmore Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Never disappoints!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael Walkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Love, love, love this. My husband asks for it every summer. I use kielbasa because we like the flavor, cut the potatoes in half or quaters, depending on size. This way the potatoes go futher and get more of the seasoning in them. The last time I made it I also added king crab legs...awesome!! Love to make this for friends also. Something a little diff than burgers and dogs on the grill. Eat outside on deck..no mess in the house that way. Is just as good reheated too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbyJean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I changed the receipt a little because of the ingredients that I had on hand. I use corn off the cob from my garden. I added onions and a tablespoon of butter. I got rave reviews from a tough crowd to feed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Delicious...I made just a few changes based on other reviews and personal taste. I added an onion, chopped celery, one clove of garlic, and 2 bay leaves to the boiling water. I used a polish keilbasa, as my kids do not like spicy food. Used half a beer while cooking. The corn was the absolute best! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
We make this on our deck in the summer using our turkey fryer equipment. Our proportions of ingredients are a little different based on what my family likes. We cook "heavy" on the shrimp and "light" on the sausage. We are also heavy on the red potatoes and cook less corn. I add quartered onions and big hunks of carrots to the pot first - along with the Old Bay and a few extra bay leaves - for additional flavor as well as for my one daughter that loves cooked carrots. When done I turn it all out into my large turkey roasting pan and just sit it in the center of the table and let everyone have at it. A little butter and cocktail sauce is all you need. Yes, you can provide a side or bread with this but I usually don't as its a complete meal in itself. All you need with this is DESSERT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
We make this about once a month during the summer months... or anytime we are missing the beach. We use the crab boil in a bag instead of the Old Bay. I also add 1 lemon quartered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AshleyR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Bremen, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Tried this recipe last week for my famlly and they loved it!!! The only problem im going to have is trying to find corn on the cob in winter in Ontario!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
The best things in life are the simple ones and this is simply delicious. Really, it's hard to mess this up. I like to brown my sausage in the pot just a bit first to render out the fat (don't pour the fat out). Like somebody else mentioned it is tasty to cut up a lemon in it and toss in a couple of bay leaves but if you don't have them make it exactly like the recipe says, it's great. I scale it down to feed the three of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B. Bailey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I had this in SC and it was delicious. My friend just made it for a party but didn't add any seasoning, plain kielbasa (not hot) and no hot pepper. Very bland. I will try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Great recipe! Delicious! As some others have said, adding beer while it is cooking improves the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States