Frogmore Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Made this just like it said and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
We all LOVE this! Made it for my neice's rehearsal dinner/picnic and it was a big hit. The seafood and sausage will disappear long before the potatoes and corn when other side dishes are offered, so if there are a few other potato/pasta/veggie offerings it would be best to cut the potatoes and corn by 1/3 to 1/2 to avoid lots of leftovers. Also, this allows more space for some crab legs, which make a deicious addition. Note to self: use smoked beef sausage and replace part of the water with 2 beers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
So easy to make! All you need is a large pot! The potatoes were every so slightly over cooked for my taste but I ate them anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Quite nice but I need to make a fair bit of changes next time as flavour wasn't all that great....no doubt me rather than recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arnold, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Never disappoints!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Love, love, love this. My husband asks for it every summer. I use kielbasa because we like the flavor, cut the potatoes in half or quaters, depending on size. This way the potatoes go futher and get more of the seasoning in them. The last time I made it I also added king crab legs...awesome!! Love to make this for friends also. Something a little diff than burgers and dogs on the grill. Eat outside on deck..no mess in the house that way. Is just as good reheated too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbyJean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I changed the receipt a little because of the ingredients that I had on hand. I use corn off the cob from my garden. I added onions and a tablespoon of butter. I got rave reviews from a tough crowd to feed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Delicious...I made just a few changes based on other reviews and personal taste. I added an onion, chopped celery, one clove of garlic, and 2 bay leaves to the boiling water. I used a polish keilbasa, as my kids do not like spicy food. Used half a beer while cooking. The corn was the absolute best! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
We make this on our deck in the summer using our turkey fryer equipment. Our proportions of ingredients are a little different based on what my family likes. We cook "heavy" on the shrimp and "light" on the sausage. We are also heavy on the red potatoes and cook less corn. I add quartered onions and big hunks of carrots to the pot first - along with the Old Bay and a few extra bay leaves - for additional flavor as well as for my one daughter that loves cooked carrots. When done I turn it all out into my large turkey roasting pan and just sit it in the center of the table and let everyone have at it. A little butter and cocktail sauce is all you need. Yes, you can provide a side or bread with this but I usually don't as its a complete meal in itself. All you need with this is DESSERT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
We make this about once a month during the summer months... or anytime we are missing the beach. We use the crab boil in a bag instead of the Old Bay. I also add 1 lemon quartered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carrollton, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States