Frogmore Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This is one of the many reasons I move to South Carolina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buella Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Townsend, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I make this at our camp in California every summer and for my husbands birthday in the winter. My version includes both shrimp and crab. I also add lemons and onions for extra flavor. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Maybe you have to be Southern... I don't know, this recipe was just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Love this! Made no changes to the recipe, and my husband requests this often. Just made it tonight! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hubbard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
This was a huge hit, everybody loved it. I did two batches so I could use less spice in one of them for the diners who are sensitive to spice. Both of them turned out delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Oh. My. Goodness. I never rate recipes but feel I have to on this one. Amazing! I added a little more water, the recommended bottle of beer, and I used 2 lbs of peeled, uncooked shrimp because that's what was in the bag. When adding the shrimp, I just stirred them in until they were pink - 2 min at most. Everyone loved it and I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
This is a fantastic end of summer recipe for when the corn really starts pouring in. It creates drama and fun when you serve it caveman style on newspaper, although I used inside out grocery store paper bags to avoid newsprint. I served this at my Labor Day party and although we were all adults, be assured the serving style would be loved by kids. I prepared the recipe as described, plus one tip from another...I added a generous tablespoon of Red Pepper Flakes and I took the pot off the heat when I added the shrimp to avoid overcooking. My shrimp were frozen and they were cooked in 2/3 minutes all the same. My tips: We boiled the water using the "rocket launch pad" which is a the propane burner that we use for frying a turkey. USE OUTSIDE AWAY from house, most important thing to know if you are a first timer. Pay close attention to the timing for each item. DO NOT CUT the potatoes in half. I cut half of the taters in half and they turned to mush but the whole ones were perfect at the time indicated. If you do cut them in half, put them in later. Cutting the corn in fourths is worth it, the pieces are manageable and match the size of the other ingredients. Smoked sausage..was yummy but I have also made this dish with kielbasa. The sausage/kielbasa tends to be very popular, so I would cut 1" pieces instead of 2" or throw in an extra rope. And before you bring out the butter, cocktail sauce or whatever, TASTE IT FIRST...it's unbelievable -the Old Bay is enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Excellent! Never tried mAking anything like this before and it was awesome! Only thing i would do different is drizzle a little garlic butter over it right before we dig in like another reviewer suggested. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Can't go wrong with anything you do.. just don't overcook the shrimp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States