Frogmore Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Elizabeth Dorothy
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I love this! I didn't have the Old Bay spice so I looked up knock off recipes and improvised. I am obsessed with the spice so I also sprinkled it all over potatoes, corn, shrimp, and sausage after I laid everything out in the table. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Dorothy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Made this for my first time, Delicious! Does anyone think that you could put this say in a large roaster oven and take with you to a family gathering and just let folks dish it out of the slow cooker keeping it warm? Also, if any is left, can you save your boiled water with seasonings put it back in the pot to re-heat for another meal?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This is one of the many reasons I move to South Carolina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buella Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Townsend, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I make this at our camp in California every summer and for my husbands birthday in the winter. My version includes both shrimp and crab. I also add lemons and onions for extra flavor. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Maybe you have to be Southern... I don't know, this recipe was just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Love this! Made no changes to the recipe, and my husband requests this often. Just made it tonight! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Pedigo Skaggs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hubbard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
This was a huge hit, everybody loved it. I did two batches so I could use less spice in one of them for the diners who are sensitive to spice. Both of them turned out delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Oh. My. Goodness. I never rate recipes but feel I have to on this one. Amazing! I added a little more water, the recommended bottle of beer, and I used 2 lbs of peeled, uncooked shrimp because that's what was in the bag. When adding the shrimp, I just stirred them in until they were pink - 2 min at most. Everyone loved it and I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
This is a fantastic end of summer recipe for when the corn really starts pouring in. It creates drama and fun when you serve it caveman style on newspaper, although I used inside out grocery store paper bags to avoid newsprint. I served this at my Labor Day party and although we were all adults, be assured the serving style would be loved by kids. I prepared the recipe as described, plus one tip from another...I added a generous tablespoon of Red Pepper Flakes and I took the pot off the heat when I added the shrimp to avoid overcooking. My shrimp were frozen and they were cooked in 2/3 minutes all the same. My tips: We boiled the water using the "rocket launch pad" which is a the propane burner that we use for frying a turkey. USE OUTSIDE AWAY from house, most important thing to know if you are a first timer. Pay close attention to the timing for each item. DO NOT CUT the potatoes in half. I cut half of the taters in half and they turned to mush but the whole ones were perfect at the time indicated. If you do cut them in half, put them in later. Cutting the corn in fourths is worth it, the pieces are manageable and match the size of the other ingredients. Smoked sausage..was yummy but I have also made this dish with kielbasa. The sausage/kielbasa tends to be very popular, so I would cut 1" pieces instead of 2" or throw in an extra rope. And before you bring out the butter, cocktail sauce or whatever, TASTE IT FIRST...it's unbelievable -the Old Bay is enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States