Frogmore Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I've made a lot of recipes from this site and this the THE BEST ONE YET!!!! I'm from Maryland so I did add quite a bit more Old Bay and used kielbasa w/ red pepper (as suggested by Shirley, the submitter) instead of the sausage (it was in the freezer). My kids **LOVED** the free-for-all concept of eating (I just dumped the food in the middle of the newspaper covered table). For a super special treat, I didn't even put silverware or plates on the table. After years of trying to instill manners in them, they were in their natural element tonight. My 9, 7, and 5 year old cave-children. Will DEFINITELY make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneBiteRule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This is very tasty! my potatoes didnt cook all the way through, so I had to put them back in the pot for an additional 30 min. Next time, i think im going to omit the sausage just to cut out some of the sodium content. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This recipe is Awesome! We used a turkey fryer to cook ours, not in oil of course, but with water, it allows much more room, and substituted the shrimp for crab legs. We love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Fun dinner! Raised all kinds of eyeballs when I covered table in newspaper! Only change I made was adding a bottle of light beer as recommended by others. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERARN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Interlachen, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Love Love Love this recipe! What I like most is that its soo versitile. You can add and remove and still have something wonderful. I am bad with measuring...most times I eyeball my seasoning or season to tate. I like to add more old bay than called for as well as a bag of crab boil. I also add crab legs and little neck clams to the mix. I serve it with a garlic hot sauce butter mixture for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Deevah Socialite

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snow Hill, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I have been wanting to try a recipe like this for years and decided now was the time, but boy was I disappointed! I followed the recipe only adding in some crab legs. I thought it lacked in flavor and was a big waste of food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Rigby, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I love this recipe and serve it to my students each year. We drain it and serve it by dumping it all on the covered table and eating with our hands. I've known this as Buford Stew - the kids LOVE it, and it introduces some new foods to many of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
LOVE this recipe. Make this on my mom's birthday at her house kind of like a joke because she likes frogs. Served on green colored plates. I will add that it makes a ton of food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MHASHLEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Simply awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Normalville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Totally Tasty! I cut down the recipe to serve my husband, me and our 5 year old boy. Everyone loved it! 5 year old thought sausage was too spicy - but we expected that - he gobbled up everything else - and thought it was an awesome dinner cuz he could use his hands! Mu hubby and I also agreed it was very tasty - just like the shrimp boils my dad does on special occassions! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spencer, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States